Deliver Your News to the World

Oldman, Landis and Deja to Present 2009 Student Academy Awards®


Beverly Hills, CA — Actor Gary Oldman, director John Landis and animator Andreas Deja have been tapped as presenters for the 36th Annual Student Academy Awards on Saturday, June 13, 2009, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. The awards ceremony is the culmination of a week of industry-related activities and social events that the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences hosts for the twelve students from across the United States and one film student from Sweden who have been selected as winners.

Oldman is well known for his roles in “Sid & Nancy,“ “JFK,” “Bram Stoker’s Dracula,” “Air Force One” and “The Contender.” He has had recurring roles as Sirius Black in the “Harry Potter” series, and as Jim Gordon in “Batman Begins” and “The Dark Knight.” This is his first time presenting at the Student Academy Awards.

Landis has directed such well-loved films as “National Lampoon’s Animal House,” “Trading Places,” “The Blues Brothers,” “An American Werewolf in London” and “Coming to America” among many others. He also directed the classic music video for Michael Jackson’s “Thriller.”

Deja, one of the top animators of his generation, brought to life characters as diverse as Gaston in “Beauty and the Beast,” Jafar in “Aladdin,” Scar in “The Lion King,” and Lilo in “Lilo & Stitch.” His work can also be seen in “Hercules,” “Fantasia/2000” and the animated section of “Enchanted.“

While the U.S. winners know they will each receive an award, their placement – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the June 13 ceremony. Gold Medal winners receive $5,000 cash grants, Silver Medal winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal winners receive $2,000. The Honorary Foreign Film winner receives a $1,000 cash grant.

Tickets for the 36th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony, at which the Gold Medal-winning films and the Honorary Foreign Film will be screened in their entirety, are free and available now. A maximum of four tickets may be requested online at, in person at the Academy box office, by mail, or by calling the Student Academy Awards department at (310) 247-3000, ext. 130. The ceremony will be held on Saturday, June 13, at 6 p.m. at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater, located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills. Doors open at 5 p.m. All seating is unreserved.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.