Deliver Your News to the World

XM, Starbucks Entertaiment And Concord Music Group Co-Release New Bluesville CD Featuring Music from XM’s Popular Blues Channel On May 15


XM, the nation’s leading satellite radio service, Starbucks Entertainment and Concord Music Group, today announced plans to release a compilation CD featuring music from XM’s popular blues channel on May 15. The Bluesville CD will feature songs from influential blues greats Willie Dixon and Memphis Slim, Lightnin’ Hopkins and Sonny Terry, Odetta, Roosevelt Sykes, Mildred Anderson, Furry Lewis and many other artists heard on XM’s Bluesville channel (XM 74).

Co-released by XM, Concord Music Group and Starbucks Entertainment, the Bluesville disc will be available exclusively at Starbucks Company-operated locations in the U.S. and Canada and online at beginning May 15, 2007.

Bluesville is an impressive collection of unique blues tracks selected to provide listeners a flavor for the music heard 24-hours a day on XM’s Bluesville channel (XM 74), home to the mother of all American music. The CD features “Sitting and Crying the Blues,” by Willie Dixon and Memphis Slim, “Got to Move Your Baby,” by Lightnin’ Hopkins with Sonny Terry, “Whistling Pines,” by Big Joe Williams and “When My Baby Left Me,” by Furry Lewis.

“XM’s Bluesville channel, programmed by Bill Wax who lives and breathes the blues, captures the uncompromised spirit of the music. This disc offers customers yet another opportunity to experience the depth of music presented on XM,” said Lee Abrams, chief creative officer, XM Satellite Radio.

“This exciting collaboration is the result of our alliances with both Concord Music Group and XM Satellite Radio coming together to create great content for our customers,” said Ken Lombard, president, Starbucks Entertainment. “This is an incredible collection of classic blues that we know our customers are going to absolutely love.”

“”Bluesville’ is the perfect vehicle to introduce this historic American music to current music lovers,” states Concord Music Group’s Bill Belmont. “This 15 track collection highlights some of the finest blues ever recorded.”

Bluesville is being offered for $13.95 in the U.S. and $16.95 in Canada.

XM’s Bluesville channel is where the blues live on radio. The Bluesville channel features a mix of traditional blues, modern blues, rockin’ blues and soul or “finger-poppin” blues. A complete schedule for Bluesville shows on XM is available online at

Complete Bluesville Track Listing:
1. I’ll Play the Blues for You – Albert King
2. Satellite Baby – Roosevelt Sykes
3. Baby How Long – Sunnyland Slim
4. Don’t Deceive Me (Please Don’t Go) – Mildred Anderson
5. Mean Old Frisco – Jimmy Witherspoon & Kenny Burrell
6. I’ve Been Treated Wrong – Jimmy Witherspoon & T-Bone Walker
7. Hole in the Wall – Floyd Dixon
8. The Blues Never Die – Otis Spann
9. Hard, Oh Lord – Odetta
10. Got to Move Your Baby – Lightnin’ Hopkins with Sonny Terry
11. My Baby Left Me – Furry Lewis
12. Sittin’ and Cryin’ the Blues – Willie Dixon with Memphis Slim
13. If That Ain’t a Reason (for Your Woman to Leave You) – Little Milton
14. Whistling Pines – Big Joe Williams
15. Yesterday is Gone – Jimmy McCracklin


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.