Deliver Your News to the World

AB InBev Announces Proposed Changes To its Board of Directors


AB InBev SA/NV (“AB InBev”) is announcing the following proposals with respect to its Board of Directors (the “Board”) for approval at its upcoming shareholders’ meeting to be held on Wednesday 26 April 2023 (the “General Shareholders’Meeting”):

  • The number of independent directors on the Board will be increased from three to four and the number of directors to be appointed upon proposal of the Reference Shareholder will be decreased from nine to eight.
  • The following directors will be leaving the Board after having completed many years of distinguished service: Ms. María Asunción Aramburuzabala, Mr. William F. Gifford, Mr. Elio Leoni Sceti, Ms. Xiaozhi Liu and Ms. Cecilia Sicupira. AB InBev thanks them for their commitment and many contributions.
  • The following individuals will be proposed as new independent directors for four-year terms: Ms. Lynne Biggar, Ms. Aradhana Sarin and Mr. Dirk Van de Put. In addition, the following individuals will be proposed to be appointed or reappointed upon proposal by the Reference Shareholder for four-year terms: Ms. Sabine Chalmers, Mr. Claudio Garcia and Ms. Heloisa Sicupira; and the following individuals will be proposed to be appointed for one-year terms upon proposal by the Restricted Shareholders: Mr. Martin J. Barrington, Mr. Salvatore Mancuso and Mr. Alejandro Santo Domingo. 

 The biographies of the individuals proposed for election at the General shareholders’ Meeting who have not previously served on the Board are included below. AB InBev is pleased to attract such qualified individuals to join the other members of its Board and looks forward to their contributions.

The convening notice for the General Shareholders’ Meeting will be made available on the Company’s website ( on 24 March 2023.

Biographies of proposed new Board members

Ms. Lynne Biggar, a US citizen, graduated from Stanford University with a Bachelor’s Degree in International Relations and holds an MBA from Columbia Business School. She is a Senior Advisor at the Boston Consulting Group and is an independent Board director of Voya Financial, Inc., a leading health, wealth and investment company based in the US, and of Finastra, a financial software company headquartered in the UK. She is also an independent Executive Committee member of Leading Hotels of the World. Ms. Biggar was Executive Vice President and Global Chief Marketing Officer at Visa from 2016 to 2022. Prior to joining Visa, she served as executive vice president of consumer marketing plus revenue for Time, Inc., and before that, she spent more than 20 years at American Express in a variety of leadership positions. Ms. Biggar is also a Board member of The New 42nd Street and the global media trade group MMA Global. 

Mr. Salvatore Mancuso, a US citizen, holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting from Iona College, USA. He serves as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer for Altria Group. Over the course of his more than 32 years with Altria, he has held a variety of leadership roles across the Finance, Compliance and Strategy & Business Development organizations. Previous senior roles for Altria Group include Senior Vice President, Finance & Procurement, and Treasurer & Vice President, Investor Relations and Accounting. Prior to joining the Altria Group, Mr. Mancuso worked for Pittston Company. He also serves on the Board of the Greater Richmond Partnership.

Dr. Aradhana Sarin, a US citizen, holds a medical degree from the University of Delhi, India, and an MBA degree from Stanford Business School, USA. Dr. Sarin is Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer of AstraZeneca PLC since August 2021. Previously, she was Chief Financial Officer of Alexion, a rare disease biopharmaceutical company. Prior to Alexion, she was Managing Director, Corporate and Investment Banking at Citi Global Healthcare Banking, Managing Director of Healthcare Investment Banking at UBS, and worked at JP Morgan in the Mergers & Acquisitions advisory group. Dr. Sarin started her career practicing medicine in India and Africa. She is a member of the Board of Governors of the American Red Cross.

Ms. Heloisa Sicupira, a Brazilian citizen, graduated from Columbia University (USA) with an MBA and from Pontifícia Universidade Católica (Brazil) with a Bachelor’s Degree in Law, and is qualified to practice law in Brazil. She previously served on the Board of São Carlos Empreendimentos S.A. from 2018-2021. Ms. Sicupira began her career in 2011 as a lawyer specializing in capital markets. Since 2017 she has been an investment analyst and portfolio manager at LTS Investments and prior to that she was an investment analyst at MSD Capital.

Mr. Dirk Van de Put, a dual citizen of Belgium and the US, holds a doctorate in veterinary medicine from the University of Ghent, Belgium. Mr. Van de Put is Chairman and CEO of Mondelēz International, the global leader in biscuits and chocolate, since 2017. He joined Mondelēz from McCain Foods Limited, the largest marketer and manufacturer of frozen French fries, potato specialties and appetizers, where he was President and CEO since 2010. Before joining McCain, he was President of the Global OTC Division of Novartis Inc., a Swiss pharmaceutical company, and spent more than a decade with Groupe Danone, a maker of dairy, water, baby food and clinical nutrition products, where he served as President of the Americas Division and joint President of the Fresh Dairy Division. In the first 15 years of his career, he held many sales and marketing roles in Europe and Latin America for Mars Inc., as well as The Coca Cola Company, where he served as President, Coca Cola Caribbean. He is a Member of the Board of Directors at The Consumer Goods Forum, and has previously been a non-executive director of Mattel, a global toy company and KDP, a coffee and drinks company.

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.