Deliver Your News to the World

Heineken to nominate Lord MacLaurin of Knebworth as Supervisory Board member


Amsterdam, 22 March 2006 - Heineken N.V. announced today that it intends to propose to the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders to be held on 20 April 2006, that Lord MacLaurin of Knebworth be appointed a member of the Supervisory Board of Heineken N.V. in view of his extensive expertise and experience in the food and drink retail sector.

Ian Charter MacLaurin was born in 1937 and joined Tesco, one of the world’s leading international retailers, in 1959. He was appointed to the Board in 1970 and from 1985 to 1997 he acted as Chairman of the Group. In the 1980s he was a Non-Executive Director of Guinness and in the 1990s he was also appointed a Non-Executive Director of Whitbread.

After leaving Tesco Lord MacLaurin became a Non-Executive Director of Vodafone and was elected Deputy Chairman in 1999 and Chairman in June 2000. He will stand down from this position in July 2006, but will continue his association with the company as Chairman of the Vodafone Charitable Foundation. He is also currently a Non-Executive Director of the Evolution Group plc and the Fleet Support Group Ltd.

Subject to approval of the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders, and including the proposed nomination of Mrs Annemiek Fentener van Vlissingen that was announced on 8 November 2005, the composition of the Supervisory Board of Heineken N.V. will be as follows:

Cees van Lede (chairman)
Jan Maarten de Jong (vice-chairman)
Maarten Das (delegated member)
Michel de Carvalho
Ton Risseeuw
Jan Michiel Hessels
Annemiek Fentener van Vlissingen
Ian MacLaurin


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.