Deliver Your News to the World

Lloyd’s announces new appointments to its Council and Franchise Board


Lloyd’s, the world’s leading specialist insurance market, today announced the following appointments to its Council and Franchise Board:

* Lord Levene was re-elected as Chairman of Lloyd’s;
* Andreas Prindl was elected as a Deputy Chairman, and Ewen Gilmour and Graham White were re-elected as Deputy Chairmen of Lloyd’s;
* Sir Robert Finch has been appointed as a nominated member of Council for a three-year term, commencing 1 January, 2009, following Bill Knight’s retirement from the Council on 31 December, 2008; and
* The new members of Council are Aprilgrange Limited (represented by Martin Hudson) and Michael Deeny, who have been elected for three-year terms, commencing 1 February, 2009 as a corporate ‘C’ external member and as an individual member respectively.

Lloyd’s Chairman, Lord Levene said:

“I am delighted to welcome all new Council members and would like to take this opportunity to thank Bill Knight and Peter Morgan for their outstanding contributions during their nine years on Council. The new members announced today will bring important experience and a different perspective, which will be invaluable to shaping the future of Lloyd’s.”

Alongside the appointments to its Council, Lloyd’s also announced changes to its Franchise Board.

David Shipley, non-executive Chairman of Managing Agency Partners Limited, has been appointed as a market connected non-executive director of the Franchise Board for a three-year term, commencing 1 January, following his service as a member of council. He replaces Edward Creasy, who retired after six years service on 31 December, 2008. Roy Brown, an independent non-executive director, also retired after six years service on 31 December, 2008.

Lord Levene said:

“I would like to thank Ed Creasy and Roy Brown for their hard work and important contribution since the Board’s inception. I look forward to working with David Shipley and all the other members of the Board.”

Council of Lloyd’s February 2009

Chairman of Lloyd’s
Lord Peter Levene (W)

Deputy Chairmen of Lloyd’s
Ewen Gilmour (W)
Dr Andreas Prindl (N)
Graham White (W)

Chief Executive Officer
Richard Ward (N)

Rolf Tolle
Rupert Atkin (W)
Michael Deeny (E)
Celia Denton (N)
Sir Robert Finch (N)
Christopher Harman (W)
Reg Hinkley (N)
Martin Hudson (‘C’E)[i]
Paul Jardine (‘C’E)[ii]
Philip Lader (N)
Alan Lovell (E)
Nick Marsh (W)
Barbara Merry (‘C’E)[iii]
Dermot O’Donohoe (‘C’E)[iv]

Franchise Board January 2009

Lord Peter Levene

Nick Furlonge
Claire Ighodaro
Andrew Kendrick
Luke Savage
Dipesh Shah
David Shipley
Jim Stretton
Rolf Tolle
Richard Ward

(W) – Working (E) – External (N) – Nominated (‘C’E) – Corporate External Representative

[i] Representative for Aprilgrange Ltd

[ii] Representative for Catlin Syndicate Ltd

[iii] Representative for Hardy Underwriting Ltd

[iv] Representative for Dornoch Ltd


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.