Deliver Your News to the World

Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals 2008


Gunskirchen, Austria.- BRP-Rotax,
BRP’s Austrian affiliate and one of the world’s leading engine manufacturers, releases
the results of the GRAND GINAL of the 2008 Rotax® Max Challenge TM (RMC) kart
racing series.
The 9th RMC GRAND FINAL took place from November 27 through November 30, 2008.
After Al Ain in the United Arabian Emirates 2007 the GRAND FINAL touched European
ground again: Italy - at no doubt the home of the kartsport. The track of La Conca in
Muro Leccese is 80 km south of Brindisi and close to the city of Otranto in the beautiful
region of Apulia

In nine years, the RMC has become the biggest kart racing series in the world. Up to
216 of the best drivers from 57 countries and all five continents gathered to crown the
best amongst them. The Rotax MAX Challenge is organized by BRP-Rotax, the world
leading manufacturer of kart engines with over 15.000 drivers worldwide. "We are proud
to host so many different nations and cultures. All of them striving together for just one
goal: Winning the prestigious title Rotax MAX Challenge World Champion", said Klemens
Dolzer, Director Sales & Marketing of BRP-Rotax. “That’s why we call it the ”Olympic
Games of Karting" he adds.
The Rotax MAX Challenge is following strict rules: Sealed engines, same tyres and
similar vehicles ensure everyone has an equal opportunity to win. The power packs
used for the races are sealed Rotax® Junior MAX, MAX as well as MAX DD2 engines.
Modifications are strictly forbidden.

Who qualifies?

The Rotax MAX Challenge is the biggest kart race series in the world. During the
season, authorised BRP-Rotax kart distributors organise national / international
competitions around the world. The best drivers from the Rotax MAX Challenges qualify
for the annual GRAND FINAL. Already at the age of 13 drivers can start their racing
career in the Rotax MAX Challenge. The RMC offers 5 race categories plus 1 nations

The winners of the 9th Edition of Rotax MAX Challenge GRAND FINAL are:

125 MAX DD2 category:

1st place: Leeroy Poulter, South Africa
2nd place: Pier-Luc Ouellette, Canada
3rd place: Stuart Marsell, USA

125 MAX DD2 Masters category:

1st place: Dennis Kroes, Netherlands
2nd place: Curtis Cooksey, USA
3rd place: Maurits Knopjes, UAE

125 MAX category:

1st place: Ben Cooper, United Kingdom
2nd place: Chris Lock, United Kingdom
3rd place: Martin Pierce, Ireland

125 MAX Master category:

1st place: Martin Pierce, Ireland
2nd place: Jerome Bourquard, France
3rd place: Colin Davis, UK

125 JUNIOR MAX category:

1st place: Facundo Chapur, Argentinia
2nd place: Kevin Korjus, Estonia
3rd place: Paul Fourquemin, France


1st place: UK
2nd place: Netherlands
3rd place: Hungary

Past locations of the Grand Final:



November 2000, Puerto Rico / USA


January 2002, Langkawi / Malaysia


January 2003, Pretoria / South Africa


January 2004, Sharm el Sheikh / Egypt


January 2005, Lanzarote / Canary Islands


November 2005, Langkawi / Malaysia


November 2006, Viana do Castelo / Portugal


November 2007, Al Ain / UAE


November 2008, La Conca / Italy


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.