Deliver Your News to the World

ConocoPhillips Energy Prize Winner Announced


ConocoPhillips, Penn State Recognize Innovative Ideas
To Diversify Energy Sources, Improve Energy Efficiency

HOUSTON and UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.- ConocoPhillips [NYSE:COP] and Penn State have awarded the first ConocoPhillips Energy Prize to David A. Gonzales II to further develop the Layered MagWheel, a new technology to provide magnetic acceleration and frictionless braking for vehicles, increasing energy conversion and efficiency.

2008 marks the inaugural year of the ConocoPhillips Energy Prize, which recognizes new ideas and original, actionable solutions that can help improve the way the United States develops and uses energy. The Prize focuses on innovative ideas and solutions in three areas: developing new energy sources; improving energy efficiency; and combating climate change.

Speaking at the award ceremony, Sig Cornelius, senior vice president, Finance, and chief financial officer of ConocoPhillips, said “Developing diverse sources of sustainable, reliable energy; reducing greenhouse gas emissions; and significantly improving energy efficiency all require technological advances.” He continued, “Along with our partners at Penn State, we are pleased to recognize David A. Gonzales II and the finalists for their innovative ideas to maximize our existing resources and identify new opportunities.”

“Like ConocoPhillips, Penn State believes that the nation needs fundamentally new knowledge and applications of that knowledge to diversify its energy supply, while simultaneously improving the efficiency by which it generates and utilizes that energy,” said Dr. William Easterling, dean of Penn State’s College of Earth and Mineral Sciences. “The development and commercialization of energy technologies based on novel ideas, such as those represented by the ConocoPhillips Energy Prize, will assist the United States in meeting its energy needs while spurring economic growth.

More than 300 proposals were submitted for evaluation by a panel of energy and environmental experts, which selected five finalists. Proposals were judged on the basis of creativity, scalability, commercial viability and sustainability.

The first runner-up was Corban Tillemann-Dick and team for the Radial Expansion Engine, which increases the efficiency and decreases the weight and cost of internal combustion engines by increasing the percentage of the combustion chamber reacting productively and capturing energy otherwise lost through the exhaust system. Second runner-up was Logan Bryce and team for the Micro Wind Distributive Power Generation, a small form-factor turbine to harvest power from wind at velocities of 12 mph and below, using an inverter system that allows direct connection to power mains.

The remaining finalists were Dr. Miguel Bagajewicz for the Acoustic Mass Pump, and Dr. Greg Rau for the Carbon-Negative Electrolytic Hydrogen.

Each of the five finalists received an award of $25,000 to further the development of their concept. The winner received an additional $100,000; the first and second runners-up received an additional $50,000 and $25,000 respectively.

The awards were presented yesterday at a ceremony held at ConocoPhillips Corporate offices in Houston following formal presentations by the five finalists to the panel of judges. The judges were: Charles Bierbauer, Dean, Mass Communications and Information Studies, University of South Carolina; Dr. Ralph Cicerone, President, National Academy of Sciences; Dr. Peter Jackson, Senior Director, Oil Industry Activity, Cambridge Energy Research Associates; Dr. James Kimble, Fellow, Biofuels and Long-Range Technology (retired), ConocoPhillips; and Dr. Chunshan Song, Director, EMS Energy Institute, Professor of Fuel Science and Chemical Engineering, Department of Energy and Mineral Engineering, The Pennsylvania State University


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.