Deliver Your News to the World

New Champions to seek "the next wave of growth" in Tianjin


Beijing, People’s Republic of China – At today’s press conference in Beijing, the World Economic Forum announced the key participants and programme of its Annual Meeting of the New Champions 2008, which will be held in Tianjin on 26-28 September 2008. The meeting is hosted in partnership with the government of the People’s Republic of China represented by the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC). The meeting will focus on the response of the new generation of fast-emerging multinational companies to the current economic challenges and future opportunities under the theme of “The Next Wave of Growth”, and will welcome more than 1,500 participants from 90 countries.

“The Annual Meeting of the New Champions is being held at a critical moment when the world seeks new ways to move forward from the current global economic crisis,” said Jeremy Jurgens, the World Economic Forum’s Chief Representative in Beijing and Director of the Annual Meeting of the New Champions. “The Global Growth Companies are best placed to create the next wave of growth. These New Champions will share their expertise and vision for the future at the meeting in Tianjin.”

“In hosting the Annual Meeting of the New Champions, Tianjin is excited to demonstrate to the rest of the world our contribution as an engine for global growth and showcase the dynamism and potential of the Tianjin Binhai New Area,” said Executive Vice-Mayor Yang Dongliang of Tianjin.

“We are pleased to work together with the World Economic Forum to organize the Annual Meeting of the New Champions and other activities in China. We believe that such endeavours will promote China’s economic development, encourage cooperation between China and the rest of the world, foster the maturity of Global Growth Companies and create opportunities for mutually beneficial cooperation between Chinese and foreign business,” added Li Bin, Deputy Director-General, Department of Foreign Affairs of the NDRC.

Led by Premier Wen Jiabao, other senior Chinese officials who will take part in the meeting include: Chen Zhu, Minister of Health, Ministry of Health of the People’s Republic of China; Dai Xianglong, Chairman, National Council for Social Security Fund, People’s Republic of China; Huang Xingguo, Mayor of Tianjin, People’s Republic of China; Li Rongrong, Chairman, State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission, People’s Republic of China; Li Ruogu, President, The Export-Import Bank of China, People’s Republic of China; Liu Mingkang, Chairman, China Banking Regulatory Commission, People’s Republic of China; Xu Zongheng, Mayor of Shenzhen, People’s Republic of China; Xie Xuren, Minister of Finance of the People s Republic of China; Zhang Gaoli, Party Secretary, CPC Tianjin Municipal Committee, People’s Republic of China; Zhang Ping, Chairman, National Development and Reform Commission, People’s Republic of China; and Zhou Shengxian, Minister of Environmental Protection of the People’s Republic of China.

A select group of business leaders with extensive international experience in building global businesses from the World Economic Forum’s Partners and Members will act as Mentors at the meeting. They include: Peter Bakker, Chief Executive Officer, TNT, Netherlands; Samuel A. DiPiazza Jr, Chief Executive Officer, PricewaterhouseCoopers, USA; Thomas Enders, Chief Executive Officer, Airbus, France; Frank Ning Gaoning, Chairman, COFCO, People’s Republic of China; Khalid Abdulla-Janahi, Chairman, Ithmaar Bank, Bahrain; Jiang Jianqing, Chairman of the Board, Industrial and Commercial Bank of China, People’s Republic of China; James H. Quigley, Global Chief Executive Officer, Deloitte, USA; William R. Rhodes, Senior Vice-Chairman, Citigroup; Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Citibank NA, Citi, USA; James S. Turley, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ernst & Young, USA; Ruben K. Vardanian, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Troika Dialog Group, Russian Federation; and Yang Yuanqing, Chairman of the Board, Lenovo, People’s Republic of China.

Other leading political and business leaders taking part the meeting include: Christos Folias, Minister of Development of Greece; Gan Kim-Yong, Acting Minister of Manpower of Singapore; Jean-Daniel Gerber, State Secretary for Economic Affairs of Switzerland; Guo Shuqing, Chairman, China Construction Bank, People’s Republic of China; Huang Tianwen, President, Sinosteel Corporation, People’s Republic of China; John Hutton, Secretary of State for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform of the United Kingdom; Li Jiange, Chairman, China International Capital Corporation, People’s Republic of China; Liu Jiren, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Neusoft Corporation, People’s Republic of China; Jack Ma Yun, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Alibaba Group, People’s Republic of China; Peter Mandelson, Commissioner, Trade, European Commission, Brussels; Lawrence Kego Masha, Minister of Home Affairs of Tanzania; Pan Shiyi, Chairman, SOHO, People’s Republic of China; Troels Lund Poulsen, Minister of the Environment of Denmark; Marat Safiullin, Minister of Economy of the Republic of Tatarstan, Russian Federation; Jean-Louis Schiltz, Minister of Information and Communication Technologies of Luxembourg; Margaret Spellings, US Secretary of Education; Maqbool Ali Sultan, Minister of Commerce and Industry of Oman; Wang Jianzhou, Chairman and Chief Executive, China Mobile Communications Corporation, People’s Republic of China; and Zhu Jimin, Chairman of the Board, Shougang Group, People’s Republic of China.

Note to Editors

- For more information about the meeting, please visit:
- Download photos of last year’s meeting and the upcoming one at:
- Live webcasts of all plenary sessions (as 27-28 September):
- All press conferences will be broadcast live on and where viewers can post live questions to the panellists

Please note the Young Global Leaders Annual Summit 2008, a gathering of over 200 YGLs, will take place in Tianjin on 24-28 September. For more information click here (PDF, 128 KB, 2 pages).

Note for the media: press accreditation is now closed.

The official co-host broadcasters for the Annual Meeting of the New Champions are Phoenix Satellite Television in collaboration with Tianjin TV.

The World Economic Forum is an independent international organization committed to improving the state of the world by engaging leaders in partnerships to shape global, regional and industry agendas.

Incorporated as a foundation in 1971, and based in Geneva, Switzerland, the World Economic Forum is impartial and not-for-profit; it is tied to no political, partisan or national interests. (


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.