Deliver Your News to the World

Johanns Appoints National Pork Producers Delegate Body


WASHINGTON, Dec. 30, 2005 -- Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns today announced the appointment of 153 pork producers and 8 importers to the 2006 National Pork Producers Delegate Body. Appointees will serve a one-year term.

Established under the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the Delegate Body and the National Pork Board have implemented a national program designed to improve the pork industry’s position in the marketplace.

The delegates were selected from nominees submitted by state pork producer association and importer groups.

Appointed members representing pork producers by state are:

Alabama: M. (Marion) Stanley Morris and Greg W. Buttram.
Alaska: Richard C. Worrell.
Arizona: Michael D. Terrill and Donald L. Davidson.
Arkansas: Daniel J. Hostetler and Joseph B. Wolf.
California: Wesley Barone and Robert E. Bortz.
Colorado: Brett B. Rutledge and David C. Martin.
Delaware: John B. Tigner, Jr. and John E. McGee II.
Florida: Tommy R. Crawford and Myron W. Bryan.
Georgia: Dania S. Devane and Glen H. Walters.
Hawaii: Wayne L. Shimokawa and Ronald B. McKeehan, Sr.
Idaho: Bradley K. Thornton and Dave D. Roper.
Illinois: Darrell D. Stitzel, Gary L. Asay, Stephen K. Main, Brian D. Sturtevant, Phillip J. Borgic, Bill A. Fisher, and Jeff E. Galle.
Indiana: Levi J. Huffman, Alan Wilhoite, Michael S. Lewis, Brian S. Furrer, and Monty E. Moss
Iowa: Marvin J. Rietema, Scott W. Tapper, Larry J. Sailer, Michael E. Pech, Curtis D. Meier, David E. Moody, John P. Weber, Chad R. Keppy, Cindy L. Becker, John R. Brenneman, Stephen J. Burgmeier, Susan G. Carlson, Rodney G. Dykstra, Kenneth G. Gard, Gene G. Gourley, Steven L. Kerns, Max S. Schmidt, Norman R. Schmitt, Leon C. Sheets, Derrick D. Sleezer, Bill J. Tentinger, Joel D. Van Gilst, Eugene D. Ver Steeg, John E. Vossberg, and Charles D. Wirtz.
Kansas: Steven J. Eichman, Kelly J. Wondra, Alan J. Haverkamp, and Ron F. Suther.
Kentucky: Maurice W. Heard and John S. Medley, Jr.
Louisiana: Robert L. Fletcher III and William E. Fletcher.
Maine: Charlie F. Kenney, Jr. and Clark L. Souther.
Maryland: Charles T. (Tom) Linthicum, Jr. and Patrick A. Rodgers.
Massachusetts: Lisa D. Colby.
Michigan: Patrick M. Hunter, Daniel J. Pung, and Edward L. Reed.
Minnesota: Duane H. Bakke, Kimberly A. Balfe, Lynn J. Becker, Kelly L. Blomgren, William L. Crawford, Gregory M. Fox, Randal E. Koll, Craig A. Mensink, Karen J. Richter, Dale E. Stevermer, and Douglas K. Wenner.
Mississippi: Terry O. Patterson and James E. Blissard.
Missouri: Scott G. Hays, James E. Fisher, Walter J. Swier, and William D. Kessler.
Montana: Donald L. Herzog and John W. Rauser.
Nebraska: Gary L. Doerr, William H. Luckey, Greg L. Wortman, Terrance D. O’Neel and Dennis L. Beethe.
Nevada: David S. Louk and Becky A. Louk.
New Hampshire: Jennifer L. Lamper and Doreen R. Gitschier.
New Jersey: Kenneth J. Southard.
New Mexico: Brent M. VanDyke.
New York: Michael A. Hargrave and Sandra L. Hartman.
North Carolina: Larry J. Barrow, Jr., Donald P. Butler, Robert C. Hunt, Bundy H. Lane, Zack McCullen III, Roland H. Mohesky, Henry E. Moore III, Eugene C. Nemechek, George H. Pettus, John S. Sargent, Gregory A. Sconyers, R. Gerald Warren, and Kraig A. Westerbeek.
North Dakota: Kristi R. Freeberg and David P. Marschner.
Ohio: Jim L. Albaugh, Anthony J. Bornhorst, James R. Heimerl, and Gregory R. Kaffenbarger.
Oklahoma: Lonnie C. Hoelscher, Perry M. Jones, Jr., Steve B. Clark, and John A. Hardaway.
Oregon: Nannette M. Bierma and Gayle L. Burke.
Pennsylvania: Oscar J. Manbeck, Kurtis P. Good, and Thomas A. Sollenberger.
South Carolina: Larry B. DeHart and Jeff A. Hallman.
South Dakota: Paul D. Brandt, Bradley S. Greenway, and David J. Uttecht.
Tennessee: Dennis A. Holder and Jamey C. Tosh.
Texas: Erwin F. Schwartz, Jr. and Kenneth S. Cantrell.
Utah: Kenneth E. Jacobsen and William G. Howard.
Virginia: Donald H. Horsley and William R. Wooding, Jr.
Washington: Theresa Y. Tassell and J. Scot Cocking.
Wisconsin: Brian J. Klubertanz and Allen J. Ries.
Wyoming: Shawn M. Shmidl and Ana L. Shmidl.
Importers appointed to the Delegate Body are: Ole Nielsen, David E. Biltchik, James R. Marsh, Malcolm O. James, Rene M. Olsen, Karsten Bruun, Bjarne Jenshoej and Albert F. Pish.

The program is funded by an assessment currently set at 0.40 percent of the market value of all hogs sold in the United States. An equivalent amount is assessed on imported hogs, pork and pork products.

Delegates meet annually to recommend the rate of assessment, determine the percentage of assessments that state associations will receive and nominate producers and importers to the 15-member National Pork Board.

Representation on the Delegate Body is based on annual net assessments collected on sales of domestic hogs within individual states, with a minimum of two producers from each state. States have the option of not submitting nominees. Connecticut, Vermont and West Virginia did not submit any nominees. Alaska, Massachusetts, New Jersey and New Mexico only submitted one nominee this year. Importer representation is based on assessments on imported pork and pork products.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.