Deliver Your News to the World

Pernilla Wiberg heads IOC Evaluation Commission for 1st Winter Youth Olympic Games


Following the decision of the IOC Executive Board to shortlist the four Candidate Cities of Harbin (China), Innsbruck (Austria), Kuopio (Finland) and Lillehammer (Norway), the IOC President has appointed an Evaluation Commission to further analyse the projects put forward for the 1st Winter Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in 2012.

The IOC Evaluation Commission will be chaired by Ms Pernilla Wiberg, IOC member and IOC Athletesí Commission member, and is composed of the following persons:

- Victor Khotochkin, NOC representative, Vice-President of the Russian Olympic Committee
- Fredi Schmid, AIOWF representative, International Skating Union (ISU) Director General
- Martin Rutishauser, Swiss Olympic Association Secretary General
- Gilbert Felli, IOC Olympic Games Executive Director
- Christophe Dubi, IOC Sports Director
- Essar Gabriel, IOC Head of the Youth Olympic Games

As part of the candidature procedure, the Candidate Cities will have the opportunity in September to present their bid to the Evaluation Commission through a video conference call. The video conference calls will take place for one hour and will be structured in two parts: a 15-20-minute verbal presentation by the city to present its bid, followed by questions and answers.

The Evaluation Commission will submit a report to the IOC Executive Board. On the basis of this report, the IOC Executive Board will decide which shortlisted YOG Candidate Cities will be selected to be submitted to a postal vote by all IOC members. The announcement of the 1st Winter Youth Olympic Games host city will take place in December 2008.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.