Deliver Your News to the World

GlaxoSmithKline plc Announces Changes to the Board of Directors


22 December 2005, London, UK / LSE Announcement, GlaxoSmithKline plc (GSK) announces that two new Non-Executive Directors are to join the Board of the Company with effect from 1st January 2006 and that Dr Lucy Shapiro will be retiring as a Non-Executive Director at the Company’s Annual General Meeting on 17th May 2006. The two new Non-Executives are:

Dr Ralph Horwitz, Dean, Schoolof Medicineand Vice President of Medical Affairs at CaseWestern ReserveUniversity, Cleveland, Ohioand Director of Case Research Institute.

Mr Tom De Swaan, Currently, Chief Financial Officer and member of the Management Board of ABN AMRO.

In commenting on the retirement of Dr Shapiro and the appointment of Dr Horwitz, Sir Christopher Gent, Chairman of GSK, said:

“During the last nine years Lucy has provided the Board with invaluable advice and support for which I and my Board colleagues are immensely grateful.

I am delighted that Ralph has agreed to join the Board. In addition to fulfilling his usual responsibilities as a Non-Executive Director, he will spend time within our research and development organisation and, with his experience, will provide valuable insights to scientific and clinical developments outside GSK.”

On his appointment to GSK, Mr De Swaan will join the Audit Committee and will succeed Dr Ronaldo Schmitz as its Chairman in September 2006. Commenting on Mr De Swaan’s appointment, Sir Christopher Gent said:

“I am very glad that Tom, who has had a long and distinguished career in international banking, has agreed to join the Board and take over from Ronaldo as Chairman of the Audit Committee. This is a challenging and demanding role that Ronaldo has undertaken with great skill and I am delighted that he has also agreed to remain on the Board for a further term of three years.”


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.