Deliver Your News to the World

Professor Herbert Hovenkamp Receives Justice Departmentís 2008 John Sherman Award


Award Presented by Antitrust Division in Recognition of Professor Hovenkampís Lifetime Contributions to Antitrust Law and Policy

WASHINGTON, D.C. ó Professor Herbert Hovenkamp will receive the John Sherman Award from the Antitrust Division for his lifetime contributions to the teaching and enforcement of antitrust law and the development of antitrust policy. The award will be presented during a ceremony on July 29, 2008, in the Great Hall of the Robert F. Kennedy Department of Justice Building.

ďProfessor Hovenkamp sets the standard for antitrust scholarship today,Ē said Thomas O. Barnett, Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Departmentís Antitrust Division. ďAs one of the authors of the leading antitrust treatise, his insights and cogent analysis have helped to improve antitrust law and policy to better protect consumer welfare and to spur economic growth. His work is routinely relied upon by the Supreme Court as well as by the entire antitrust community. I am honored to bestow the prestigious John Sherman Award on such a deserving scholar.Ē

Created in 1994, the John Sherman Award is presented by the Departmentís Antitrust Division to a person or persons for outstanding contributions to the field of antitrust law, the protection of American consumers, and the preservation of economic liberty.

Hovenkamp is the Ben V. & Dorothy Willie Professor of Law and History at the University of Iowa, where he has taught since 1986. Previously, he was Professor of Law at the University of Californiaís Hastings College of the Law, and he has also taught at the University of Michigan and the University of Texas. He received his law degree and Ph.D. in American Civilization from the University of Texas.

Hovenkamp has taught Antitrust, Antitrust & Economics, Law in American History, Torts, and Real Property. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Council of Learned Societies, and he has been the Rockefeller Foundation Humanities Fellow at Harvard Law School. At the University of Iowa, he has been Faculty Scholar and Presidential Lecturer, and he has received the universityís Collegiate Teaching Award. Hovenkampís publications include some 70 articles and approximately 50 essays and book reviews, as well as a dozen books. He is the senior surviving author of Antitrust Law (formerly with Phillip Areeda & Donald Turner), which currently spans 20 volumes.

The award is named for the author of the Sherman Act of 1890, the nationís first and foremost antitrust law. John Sherman, a former congressman and senator, also served as Secretary of the Treasury from 1877 to 1881 and as Secretary of State from 1897 to 1898. Previous recipients have included Robert H. Bork (2005), Richard A. Posner (2003), Milton Handler (1998), Thomas Kauper and William Baxter (1996), Phillip Areeda (1995), and Senator Howard Metzenbaum (1994).


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.