Deliver Your News to the World

Pavilion Technologies, a Rockwell Automation Company, Featured as Technology Partner for Golden Grain Energy LLC, a Winner of Managing Automation’s 2008 Progressive Manufacturing 50 Awards


AUSTIN, Texas.— Pavilion Technologies, a Rockwell Automation company, was selected as a technology partner for Golden Grain Energy LLC, a winner of the fourth annual Progressive Manufacturing 50 Awards, presented by Managing Automation, a Thomas Publishing Company LLC media brand.

Golden Grain Energy was the first ethanol producer to be named to the Progressive Manufacturing 50 Awards. Based in Iowa, Golden Grain Energy was recognized for its implementation of an advanced process control solution from Pavilion Technologies. The Pavilion Biofuels Industry Solution provides a comprehensive suite of model predictive control and optimization applications for fermentation, distillation, drying and water balance control. Designed to reduce energy consumption, the application helped the company increase ethanol production by 10 percent and increase the quality of distillers dried grain for an estimated annual value of $1.7 million per year.

“The savings and increased production we’ve experienced as a result of Pavilion Technologies’ advanced process control implementation are invaluable,” said Chad Kuhlers, Golden Grain Energy plant manager. “As a result, we’ve become one of the most efficient and productive ethanol producers in the Upper Midwest.”

The Progressive Manufacturing 50 Awards recognize 50 projects that have leveraged technology to create business value in at least one of the eight core disciplines defined by Managing Automation as critical to business success in the years ahead. These disciplines include: Business Model Mastery, Customer Mastery, Supply Network Mastery, Data & Integration Mastery, Innovation Mastery, Training & Education Mastery, Leadership and Operational Excellence. Project nominations were reviewed by an independent judging panel chaired by David Brousell, editor-in-chief, Managing Automation. Judges included Lisa Bodell, CEO, FutureThink; Bill Canis, vice president for Research and Innovation, The Manufacturing Institute at the National Association of Manufacturers; Douglas A. Engel, former vice chairman and Manufacturing Industry practice leader, Deloitte; Chris Knuffman, lean manufacturing champion, Quincy Compressor (2006 Award Winner); Larry Lapide, Ph.D., director, Demand Management, MIT Center for Transportation & Logistics; Paul E. Martin, global chief information officer, Rexam Plc (2005 Award Winner); Bruce McKay, executive vice president, Livingston & Haven (2007 Progressive Manufacturer of the Year); Scott Mingus, global director, New Project Development, Glatfelter (2007 Award Winner); Eric Middelstadt, CEO, The National Council of Advanced Manufacturing (NACFAM); James A. Robbins, partner, Accenture Industrial Equipment Practice; Maureen Steinwall, president, Steinwall Inc. (2006 Award Winner); and Steven Vidakovic, Ph.D., Technology and Knowledge Integration, Global Supply Chain, Pfizer Inc. (2007 Award Winner).

Judges evaluated and scored nominated projects based on the following criteria: project scope, business impact, customer impact, technology use and scale. Progressive Manufacturing 50 winners were the companies receiving the highest total scores in their respective categories.

“This new crop of Progressive Manufacturing winners reflects the amazing creativity and determination alive today in the manufacturing community,” said David R. Brousell, editor-in-chief of Managing Automation. “These companies are taking bold steps to rethink their business models and processes, their relationships with customers and partners, and to create new advantages for themselves in business speed and value. In doing so, they are positioning their organizations for greater success now and in the years ahead.”

The Progressive Manufacturing 50 award winners will be honored and presented with their awards at the 2008 Progressive Manufacturing Summit, taking place June 10 to 12 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Las Vegas, Nev. In addition to presenting the awards to the Progressive Manufacturing 50 winners, Managing Automation will also announce the high achievers in each of the eight disciplines as well as the 2008 Progressive Manufacturer of the Year.

“We look forward to recognizing and celebrating our winners in front of an audience of their peers across all facets of manufacturing at the Progressive Manufacturing Summit in Las Vegas this June,” said Managing Automation publisher Heather Mikisch. “Winning this award is a tremendous honor that not only helps these manufacturers demonstrate their progress and success in the marketplace, but also sets them apart from the competition.”


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.