Deliver Your News to the World

Zack Snyder’s 300 wins top award at the third annual Polished Apple Awards


The Academy Awards completely ignored Zack Snyder’s epic film “300” this year. Thank God for The Pollies. honored Snyder’s adaptation of Frank Miller’s graphic novel, naming it ‘Best Movie’ with the announcement of the 2008 Polished Apple Awards. Starring Gerard Butler and Lena Headey, “300” was a highly technical film that used blue screen and digital technology to recreate the Battle of Thermopylae (480 B.C.) set in a comic book world.

“It’s a revolutionary work of art,” senior editor Chad Freeman said. “I’m really astonished this film didn’t get a single Oscar nomination. But I guess, just add it to the long list of highly influential films like ‘Star Wars,’ ‘Pulp Fiction’ and ‘The Blair Witch Project’ that deserved to win best picture and were snubbed.” is an entertainment website that celebrates individuality, diversity, creativity and empowerment. Their Polished Apple Awards, also known as The Pollies, coincide each year with the Academy Awards. This is the third year for The Pollies.

Previous top winners were the overlooked gems “Hard Candy” and “Mysterious Skin” that were directed by David Slade and Gregg Araki. Both directors are winners this year for lesser awards. Slade’s “30 Days of Night,” based on a graphic novel by Steve Niles and Ben Templesmith, was named this year’s “Scariest Movie.” Araki’s “Smiley Face,” which starred Anna Faris, was praised for “Best Depiction of Drug Use.”

Other films receiving Pollies were Tom Tykwer’s “Perfume: The Story of a Murderer” for direction, Carl Colpaert’s “G.I. Jesus” for writing, and Shane Meadows’ “This Is England,” which starred Thomas Turgoose as a 12-year-old boy becoming involved with a group of skinheads, for acting.

Kazuaki Kiriya’s sci-fi film based on a Japanese animé of the same name took honors as “Coolest Looking Movie.” Giuseppe Andrews’ trailer park laugh fest “Garbanzo Gas” nabbed “Funniest Movie.” Marcus Nispel’s cross-genre piece “Pathfinder” was named “Most Action-Packed Movie.”

In the “Best Use of” categories, the sex/nudity honor went to Stephen Purvis’ “El Cortez,” which starred Lou Diamond Phillips as a Reno hotel desk clerk. Other winners were Ryan Cavalline’s underground horror film “Aspiring Psychopath” for violence/gore and Danny Boyle’s sci-fi adventure “Sunshine” for music.

“Best Concept-Gimmick-Hook” went to Nimród Antal’s “Vacancy,” which featured a couple checking into a hotel that produces snuff films via hidden video cameras. Best documentary went to the story of Linda Riss and Burt Pugach called “Crazy Love,” which was directed by Dan Klores and Fisher Stevens. The foreign language award went to Shaky González’s “Pistoleros,” a Denmark spaghetti western crossed with a heist film. “Best Remake-Sequel-Etc.” went to Hans Horn’s “Open Water 2: Adrift.”

To be eligible for The Pollies a film must have been released on DVD during the current award cycle, which starts the month of the previous year’s awards and ends the month before the current year’s Oscars. considers all films for its awards. As the site puts it, this includes “the movie you made with your mom in your backyard.” also announced the results of a pinup of the year poll and inducted three new members into their entertainment hall of fame. Tito & Tarantula bass player Lucy La Loca was crowned “Pinup of the Year,” while Ray Harryhausen, H.G. Wells and Marilyn Monroe were named to the “Polly Staffle Hall of Fame.” Lucy was voted by the site’s readers based on a “combination of looks, creativity, sense of humor, ambition and intelligence.” When she was featured in September and asked what advice she could offer to the site’s readers Lucy said, “Seek what you desire because you never know what will come of it. I am a Texas girl who had big dreams; it can happen for anyone who sets their mind to it.”

Harryhausen, Wells and Monroe were inducted because of their contributions to the world of entertainment in the form of filmmaking, writing, acting and modeling. They join previous inductees Herschell Gordon Lewis, Doris Wishman, Edgar Allan Poe, Bruce Lee, Jayne Mansfield and Bettie Page. contact:
Chad Freeman, senior editor
P.O. Box 751992
Las Vegas, NV 89136-1992
(702) 372-3581

Other links:


 Academy Awards
 Best Picture
 Zack Snyder

This news content may be integrated into any legitimate news gathering and publishing effort. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.