Deliver Your News to the World

National Academy Of Sciences Elects Treasurer And Councilors


WASHINGTON -- The National Academy of Sciences has elected a treasurer and four members to the Academy’s governing council.

Jeremiah P. Ostriker, professor, department of astrophysical sciences and director, Princeton Institute for Computational Science, Princeton University, has been elected to a first term as the Academy’s treasurer. During his four-year term beginning July 1, 2008, he will be responsible for the financial oversight of the Academy and the National Research Council.

Councilors elected to three-year terms beginning July 1, 2008, are: Linda M. Bartoshuk, professor, department of community dentistry and behavioral science, University of Florida; Rita R. Colwell, Distinguished University Professor, Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, University of Maryland; Judith Kimble, Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and professor of biochemistry and molecular biology and medical genetics, University of Wisconsin; and Myriam P. Sarachik, Distinguished Professor, department of physics, City College of the City University of New York.

The Academy is governed by a 17-member council, which includes five officers (president, vice president, home secretary, foreign secretary, and treasurer) and 12 councilors elected from among the Academy membership.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that provides science advice under a congressional charter. The Academy membership is comprised of approximately 2,000 members and 350 foreign associates, of whom more than 200 have won Nobel Prizes. Members and foreign associates of the Academy are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research; election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist or engineer.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.