Deliver Your News to the World

2008 Academic research scholarships


In the framework of its Postgraduate Researchers’ Scholarship Programme, the IOC Olympic Studies Centre (OSC) has chosen five research projects for their academic excellence and for their potential for developing the Olympic Movement.

The 2008 winners
The authors of these projects will benefit from a scholarship which will allow them to consult the OSC’s collections (unique collections of more than one million archived documents, publications, official reports, photos and films). The results of their research should be published at the end of the year. The five candidates selected and their chosen themes are:
- Dikaia Chatziefstathiou (University of Canterbury Christ Church, Great Britain/Greece): The Diffusion of Olympic Sport through Regional Games: A Comparison of Pre and Post Second War Contexts.
- Shirai Hiromasha (The London School of Economics, Great Britain/Japan): From Global Field to Local Neighbourhood, Sustainable Transformation of the Olympic Park for the City.
- Rebecca Leopkey (University of Ottawa, Canada): A stakeholder analysis on the management and governance of Olympic legacy.
- Qing Luo and five other researchers (collective candidature from the Communication University of China): Communication in the Olympics – Challenge and Opportunity for Beijing 2008 in Intercultural Exchange.
- Xinquan Yang (University of British Columbia, Canada/China): Investigate how corporate sponsorship can contribute to Olympic sustainability (i.e. economic, environmental and social responsibility).

Thirty-six files from 20 countries
The winners were selected by a committee comprising world-renowned experts for the quality of their research linked to Olympism and/or for their involvement in Olympic studies. This year, 36 candidature files (31 individuals and 5 collective) were submitted from 20 countries, addressing a variety of themes such as the Olympic values and multiculturalism, the different aspects of the Games’ legacy, young people and Olympism; regional games, athletes’ lives after their sporting career and international relations.

Who chooses?
The selection committee for the 2008 edition of the programme comprised the following members: Susan Brownell (University of Missouri, St Louis, USA), Lamartine DaCosta (University of Gama Filho, Brazil), Gudrun Doll-Tepper (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany), Jan Paterson (British Olympic Foundation, Great Britain), Thierry Terret (Claude Bernard University – Lyons 1, France), Stephan Wassong (Liverpool Hope University, Great Britain), Hai Ren (Beijing Sports University, China).


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.