Deliver Your News to the World

Yale School of Medicine Faculty Elected to Institute of Medicine


New Haven, Conn. — Three Yale School of Medicine faculty—Dean Robert J. Alpern, M.D., Harlan M. Krumholz, M.D., and Mary F. Tinetti, M.D.—have been elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences, it was announced this week.

Members are elected through a process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health. Election is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health.

Alpern, appointed dean of the medical school and Ensign Professor of Medicine in June 2004, is a noted nephrologist whose research has focused on the regulation of kidney transport proteins. His early work helped to define the mechanisms by which kidney cells sense excess acid and initiate a signaling cascade that alters the expression, cellular location, and function of many proteins in the cell, resulting in enhanced acid transport and urinary excretion. Prior to coming to Yale, Alpern was dean of the University of Texas Southwestern School of Medicine.

Krumholz, the Harold H. Hines Jr. Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and professor of epidemiology and public health and investigative medicine, is director of the Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars Program. He is noted for research aimed at determining optimal clinical strategies and identifying opportunities for improvement in the prevention, treatment, and outcome of cardiovascular disease. Krumholz’s research has improved the ability of the health care system to provide high-quality, high-value care, with particular emphasis on vulnerable populations. His research group has pioneered innovative approaches to identifying key success strategies for top-performing health care organizations and translating the knowledge into practice.

Tinetti, the Gladys Phillips Crowfoot Professor of Medicine (Geriatrics) and professor of epidemiology and public health and investigative medicine, is director of the Yale Program on Aging. She was the first researcher to find that it was possible to identify older persons at risk for falling and injury; that falls and injuries were associated with a range of serious consequences, and that risk-reduction strategies were effective and cost effective. Her recent work focuses on the effect of multiple diseases on health outcomes and on appropriate decision-making in the face of multiple competing diseases. She has been the director of the Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Center at Yale since 1992.

The IOM is unique for its role as both an honorific membership organization and an advisory organization. Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the IOM has become recognized as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on human health issues. With their election, members make a commitment to devote a significant amount of volunteer time as members of IOM committees, which engage in a broad range of studies on health policy issues.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.