Deliver Your News to the World

Hairspray Soundtrack Goes Gold


New Line Records’ soundtrack to the hit musical comedy Hairspray (now playing in theaters nationwide) was certified Gold by the RIAA after selling more than 500,000 units and continues to be ranked in the Top 10 of Billboard’s Top 200 chart and at #1 on the Billboard Independent Label chart for the ninth week in a row.

On Nov. 20, New Line Records will release a limited run, 2 disc deluxe collector’s edition of the Hairspray soundtrack, which will feature karaoke versions of Hairspray hits, non-soundtrack songs, never-before-heard outtakes, demo recordings, trading cards and more in a special gift set package.

In addition, Hairspray breakout star Elijah Kelley - who plays the role of Seaweed in the film – has signed a long term record deal with New Line Records. His solo debut is expected in the first quarter of 2008.

“Elijah is a uniquely talented star who has captured worldwide attention as a rare ’triple threat’ with his astonishing ability to sing, dance and act with equal brilliance,” comments Jason Linn, New Line’s Executive Vice President of Music who oversees New Line Records. “New Line is fortunate to have him as part of our label’s growing family.”

The Hairspray soundtrack, released on July 10, includes three original numbers that were created specifically for the film version of the hit Broadway musical – “Ladies’ Choice,” “New Girl In Town,” and “Come So Far.” Also featured on the soundtrack are the songs “Good Morning Baltimore,” “Welcome to the ’60s,” “Nicest Kids In Town,” and “You Can’t Stop The Beat.” The songs are performed by cast members John Travolta, Queen Latifah, Michelle Pfeiffer, Zac Efron, Amanda Bynes, Brittany Snow and Elijah Kelley among others. Also featured is the track, “Mama, I’m a Big Girl Now” performed by Rikki Lake, Marissa Jaret Winokur and Nikki Blonsky.

The Hairspray soundtrack is produced by Marc Shaiman and features music by Shaiman and lyrics by Scott Wittman and Shaiman. It features tracks mixed by Ed Cherney (Rolling Stones, Bette Midler), Peter Mokran (Pussycat Dolls, Christina Aguilera) as well as Frank Wolf.

Sixteen years after the release of the original film, New Line Cinema brings a feature film adaptation of the Tony Award-winning Broadway production of Hairspray to life. Featuring new and original material based on John Waters’ 1988 cult classic about star-struck teenagers on a local Baltimore dance show, the comedy features a remarkable collection of talent including John Travolta, Queen Latifah, Michelle Pfeiffer, Christopher Walken, Amanda Bynes, Allison Janney, Brittany Snow, Zac Efron, Elijah Kelley, director and choreographer Adam Shankman (Bringing Down The House), and producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Chicago). The new screenplay for Hairspray was written by Leslie Dixon (Freaky Friday, Outrageous Fortune). Hairspray debuted in theatres nationwide on July 20.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.