Deliver Your News to the World

Major League Baseball and Chevrolet Announce National Nominees for The 2007 Roberto Clemente Award


30 Club Recipients Honored in Conjunction with 2007 Roberto Clemente Day

Major League Baseball and Chevrolet, the official vehicle of Major League Baseball, today announced the names of the 30 Club nominees who are finalists for the prestigious 2007 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet. The national award is given annually to the Major League Baseball player who combines outstanding skills on the baseball field with devoted work in the community. Today also marks the sixth annual Roberto Clemente Day, which was established by Major League Baseball in 2002 to honor the memory of Roberto Clemente and to officially recognize local Club recipients of the Roberto Clemente Award.

The Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet is named for the 12-time All-Star and Hall of Famer who died in a plane crash on New Year’s Eve 1972 while attempting to deliver supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua. The award perpetuates Clemente’s memory and character by recognizing current-day players who truly understand the value of helping others.

“On behalf of Major League Baseball, I am proud to recognize the 2007 Club winners of the Roberto Clemente Award, and commend them for making significant contributions both on and off the field,” said Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig. “We are pleased that valued sponsor Chevrolet is joining us in celebrating the life of baseball great Roberto Clemente, and honoring this group of 30 players whose performance on the field and dedication and commitment to the community truly embody the spirit of this Award.”

“We at Chevrolet join in celebrating the life and legacy of Roberto Clemente,” said Ed Peper, General Manager, Chevrolet. “Through our sponsorship of the Roberto Clemente Award we pay tribute to those who choose to follow in his footsteps.”

The 2007 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet marks an extension of the existing partnership between Major League Baseball and Chevrolet. A donation of $30,000 will be made by Chevrolet to the national winner’s charity of choice and an additional $30,000 will be donated by Chevrolet to Roberto Clemente Sports City, a not-for-profit organization in Carolina, Puerto Rico designed to provide recreational sports activities for children regardless of economic circumstances. Additionally, Chevrolet will donate $7,500 to the charity of choice of each of the 30 Club recipients.

For the first time, fans can participate in the selection process of the national winner of the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet. From September 5th through October 5th, fans can log on to and vote for one of the 30 Club nominees. The fan vote winner will be tallied as one vote among those cast by the selection panel, which includes Vera Clemente, wife of the late Hall of Famer, and Commissioner Selig. Participating fans will also automatically be registered for a chance to win a trip to Game Three of the 2007 World Series where the national winner of the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet will be announced.

The national celebration of Roberto Clemente Day will take place at Wrigley Field in Chicago prior to tonight’s game between the Los Angeles Dodgers and Chicago Cubs. Luis Clemente, son of Roberto Clemente, and the Dodgers’ and Cubs’ local recipients of the Roberto Clemente Award are scheduled to participate in a pre-game ceremony. As part of the league-wide celebration, the Roberto Clemente Day logo will appear on the bases, commemorative home plates and the official dugout lineup cards.

All Clubs playing at home today will acknowledge their local recipients as part of Roberto Clemente Day ceremonies. Visiting Clubs will honor their local Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet recipients during an upcoming homestand.

The 30 Club recipients of the 2007 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet are:
Arizona Diamondbacks - Orlando Hudson Milwaukee Brewers - Jeff Suppan
Atlanta Braves - Tim Hudson Minnesota Twins - Torii Hunter
Baltimore Orioles - Jamie Walker New York Mets - Paul Lo Duca
Boston Red Sox - David Ortiz New York Yankees - Jorge Posada
Chicago Cubs - Derrek Lee Oakland Athletics - Nick Swisher
Chicago White Sox - Jim Thome Philadelphia Phillies - Jamie Moyer
Cincinnati Reds - Aaron Harang Pittsburgh Pirates - Jack Wilson
Cleveland Indians - Travis Hafner St. Louis Cardinals - Albert Pujols
Colorado Rockies - Matt Holliday San Diego Padres - Jake Peavy
Detroit Tigers - Curtis Granderson San Francisco Giants - Russ Ortiz
Florida Marlins - Miguel Cabrera Seattle Mariners - Raul Ibañez
Houston Astros - Craig Biggio Tampa Bay Devil Rays - Carl Crawford
Kansas City Royals - Mike Sweeney Texas Rangers - Michael Young
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim - Vladimir Guerrero Toronto Blue Jays - Vernon Wells
Los Angeles Dodgers - Derek Lowe Washington Nationals - Ryan Zimmerman


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.