Deliver Your News to the World

No Need to Scalp - MTV Has Your Ticket to the Performances of the Year!


Nelly Furtado, Lil’ Wayne, Common, T-Pain, Cee-Lo, Daniel Merriweather And Gym Class Heroes Added To Already Packed Superstar Line-up Of The 2007 MTV Video Music Awards Live on September 9th at 9PM (ET/PT)

NEW YORK.- The party just got bigger and louder at the “2007 MTV Music Video Awards” as Common, Nelly Furtado, Gym Class Heroes, T-Pain, Cee-Lo, Daniel Merriweather and Lil’ Wayne joined the already explosive performers line-up. Previously announced performers include Timbaland, Kanye West, Fall Out Boy, Amy Winehouse, Chris Brown, Foo Fighters and Rihanna. In addition, Justin Timberlake with Timbaland are set to host a Fantasy Suite party, while critically acclaimed producer, artist and DJ Mark Ronson will rock the party in The Pearl with help from his turntables, horn section and surprise guests. This year, Timbaland will also find himself working overtime as the official Maestro of the VMAs, responsible for creating several show-stopping and unexpected artist collaborations for this one night only. The “2007 MTV Video Music Awards” will air live from the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas on Sunday, September 9, 2007 at 9PM (Live ET/Tape Delayed PT.) Presenters and additional performers will be announced at a later date.

Grammy winning singer Nelly Furtado has been nominated for “Female Artist of the Year” which recognizes the artist’s complete body of work throughout 2007. Lil’ Wayne was just voted MTV’s “Hottest MC in the Game” by the “MTV News’ Hip-Hop Brain Trust”, a group of MTV music experts who have passionately debated on controversial subjects like “The Greatest Hip-Hop Groups” and “The Greatest Hip-Hop Albums of All Time.” Common’s latest album Finding Forever produced by Kanye West, hit #1 on the Billboard Albums charts. Finding Forever is Common’s first #1 album. T-Pain whose catchy single “Buy U a Drank” is nominated for new category “Monster Single of the Year” hit #1 on the Billboard charts with his latest album Epiphany. VMAs “Best New Artist” nominee Gym Class Heroes found themselves at the top of the charts with “Cupid’s Chokehold” off of their debut album As Cruel As School Children.

The Ballots for the “2007 MTV Video Music Awards” were sent out for the first time to artists and musical tastemakers as well as to an exclusive industry group and viewers who determined the nominees for the telecast. Approximately 50 viewers and individuals representing record labels, music journalists, video directors and music producers, selected the nominees for awards categories encompassing such wide-ranging contemporary music forms as rap, dance, R&B and rock. Ballots are cast online and duplication is avoided through a special control number assigned to each ballot, which can only be tallied once.

Shugoll Research is the Official Business Advisor of the “2007 MTV Video Music Awards”.

Voting for “Best New Artist” begins August 7th through the show Live on September 9th. Viewers can vote by visiting

Jesse Ignjatovic is the Executive Producer, Den of Thieves for the “2007 MTV Video Music Awards.” Dave Sirulnick is Executive Producer. Chris Choun is Co-Executive Producer. Jen Jones and Jane Mun are Co-Producers. Amy Doyle and Joanna Bomberg are Music Talent Executives. Robin Reinhardt-Locke is Celebrity Talent Executive. Garrett English is Executive in Charge of Production. Hamish Hamilton is Director.

The “2007 MTV Video Music Awards” marks the fourth time Laurie Ziegler, Branded Entertainment is doing the official VMA gift bag.

The official sponsors of the “2007 MTV Video Music Awards” are Chevy, Herbal Essences, Neutrogena, Pepsi Smash, Sprint and Taco Bell.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.