Deliver Your News to the World

Four Wyeth Researchers Honored by American Chemical Society for Pioneering Contributions to Medicinal Chemistry


Collegeville, Pa. – Wyeth Pharmaceuticals, a division of Wyeth (NYSE: WYE), announced today that four researchers in the Company’s Chemical and Screening Sciences group were honored with awards presented at the 234th American Chemical Society National Meeting & Exposition in Boston this week:

· Andrew Fensome, Ph.D., Principal Research Scientist II, received the prestigious David W. Robertson Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry, which recognizes the outstanding contributions of young scientists that shape this field. As a contributing investigator on numerous studies of nonsteroidal progesterone receptor modulators, Dr. Fensome’s work on the development of nonsteroidal oral contraceptive agents has resulted in seven drug candidates that have advanced into development.

· Edmund I. Graziani, Ph.D., Principal Research Scientist II, received the Young Industrial Investigators Award for significant achievement, contributions and innovation, and outstanding promise for future contributions to organic chemistry. The award is given to scientists with no more than 10 years of experience since graduate school or postdoctoral appointment.

· Biqi Wu, M.S., Senior Research Scientist I, and Kevin Curran, B.A., Senior Research Scientist I, will each receive a Technical Achievement in Organic Chemistry (TAOC) Award. This award represents significant achievement and contributions to organic chemistry and is given to highly productive and creative BS/MS chemists.

“The recognition of these four scientists reflects the high quality of work being done throughout Wyeth Research, particularly in our chemistry group,” says Magid Abou-Gharbia, Ph.D., Senior Vice President of Chemical and Screening Sciences at Wyeth Research. “Medicinal chemistry is one of the key components of our drug discovery efforts and has resulted in many important drug candidates. We are very proud of our colleagues who have been honored and are excited for their continued contribution to cutting-edge research and the subsequent contributions to global health care.”

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress and a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences.

Presented by the ACS Division of Medicinal Chemistry, the David W. Robertson Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry was created in 2005 in memory of David W. Robertson, a medicinal chemist at Pfizer Global Research and Development.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.