Deliver Your News to the World

EPA: Dayton-Springfield area meets health standard for smog


U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 announced today it has approved the state of Ohio’s request to redesignate Clark, Greene, Miami and Montgomery counties in the Dayton-Springfield area to attainment of the national health-based eight-hour outdoor air quality standard for ozone (smog).

EPA said three years of complete, quality-assured, outdoor air monitoring data for 2004, 2005 and 2006 show the area meets the standard.

“Residents in the Dayton-Springfield area are enjoying healthier air because of the work Ohio has done to improve air quality,” said EPA Regional Administrator Mary A. Gade. “Better air quality also means an improved business climate in these counties.”

The Agency also approved the state plan to continue to meet the eight-hour health-based ozone standard through 2018 and the motor vehicle emissions budgets included in the plan.

The action will soon be published in the Federal Register. The redesignation becomes effective upon publication.

Ground-level ozone is commonly referred to as smog. Smog is formed when a mixture of pollutants react on warm, sunny days. The pollutants are released from cars, factories and a wide variety of other sources. Smog can cause respiratory problems, including coughing, wheezing, shortness of breath and chest pain.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.