Deliver Your News to the World

EPA proposes nine Indiana counties for ozone standard redesignation


U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 today announced it is proposing to approve a request by the state of Indiana to redesignate Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan and Shelby counties in central Indiana to attainment of the national health-based, eight-hour outdoor air quality standard for ozone (smog).

EPA said complete, quality-assured outdoor air monitoring data for 2004-2006 shows the area meets the ozone standard.

The Agency also proposed approving the state plan to continue meeting the eight-hour, health-based ozone standard through 2020 and the state’s motor vehicle emission budgets included in the plan.

The proposal will soon be published in the Federal Register. The public then will have 30 days to comment on the proposed actions. Comments may be entered at Refer to docket ID No. EPA-R05-OAR-2007-0173 and follow the online instructions for submitting comments. Comments may also be sent by e-mail to or faxed to 312-886-5824.

Ground-level ozone is commonly referred to as smog. Smog is formed when a mixture of pollutants react on warm, sunny days. The pollutants are released from cars, factories and a wide variety of other sources. Smog can cause respiratory problems, including coughing, wheezing, shortness of breath and chest pain.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.