Deliver Your News to the World

DSM establishes Biomedical Scientific Advisory Board


Following the installation of a Corporate Scientific Advisory Board in June 2007, DSM has now decided to establish a Biomedical Scientific Advisory Board to support the company in its ambitions to become a world leader in biomedical materials. The Biomedical Scientific Advisory Board will consist of renowned opinion leaders in the sciences and clinical disciplines that DSM Biomedical focuses on.

The first appointed members include Professor Tony Mikos (Rice University, Houston, USA) who will head up the Biomedical Scientific Advisory Board. He is an expert in the synthesis, processing and application development of new biomaterials and has (co)authored over 330 publications. Furthermore Dr. Ivo Buschmann (Charité, University of Medicine, Berlin and Freiburg University, Germany), and Mr. Patrick Cahalan, BSc (Ension Inc., Pittsburgh, USA) have been appointed. Dr. Buschmann is an Assistant Professor and clinical cardiologist and an expert in cardiovascular research. He heads an international research consortium called Art.Net. which focuses on experimental and clinical research in the field of vascular biology and arteriogenesis (collateral artery growth). Mr. Patrick Cahalan is a medical device industry veteran. He has over three decades of R&D experience, particularly in medical coatings, and holds more than 40 granted and pending patents.

Together with the other members, to be appointed in due course, these experts will provide advice to DSM Biomedical on its research and development strategy and program. The advice will include an assessment of R&D programs and projects vis-ŕ-vis scientific and technological quality, validity of hypotheses, and clinical relevance.

Steve Hartig, Vice President DSM Biomedical: “I am convinced that early validation by external thought leaders of our ideas and inventions on scientific merit and relevance will considerably increase the success rate of our biomedical innovations. We are honored that such leading experts as Tony Mikos, Patrick Cahalan and Ivo Buschmann have committed themselves to our Board .”


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.