Deliver Your News to the World

Nominations Open for 2008 Landon-AACR Prizes


PHILADELPHIA - The American Association for Cancer Research is pleased to invite nominations for the seventh annual Landon-AACR Prizes for Basic and Translational Cancer Research. Nominations will be open until August 24, 2007.

These two major international prizes recognize seminal basic and translational cancer research discoveries at the cutting edge of scientific novelty and significance. Eligible candidates are active, recently published scientists who have made extraordinary advances in cancer research, and whose scientific innovation and creativity have accelerated progress against cancer and have implications for future discoveries and contributions to cancer research.

Past winners of the Kirk A. Landon-AACR Prize for Basic Cancer Research:

2007: Richard D. Kolodner, Ph.D.
University of California, San Diego

2006: Robert A. Weinberg, Ph.D.
Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, Cambridge, Mass.

2005: Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco

2004: Tony Hunter, Ph.D.
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, Calif.

2003: Charles J. Sherr, M.D., Ph.D.
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, Tenn.

2002: Robert N. Eisenman, Ph.D.
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, Wash.

Past winners of the Dorothy P. Landon-AACR Prize for Translational Cancer Research:

2007: Douglas R. Lowy, M.D. & John T. Schiller, Ph.D.
National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Md.

2006: Angela M. Hartley Brodie, Ph.D.
University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore

2005: Janet D. Rowley, M.D.
University of Chicago Medical Center, Chicago, Ill.

2004: Raymond N. DuBois, M.D., Ph.D.
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Nashville, Tenn.

2003: Dennis J. Slamon, M.D., Ph.D.
University of California, Los Angeles Jonsson Cancer Center

2002: Elwood V. Jensen, Ph.D.
University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio
V. Craig Jordan, Ph.D.
Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia, Pa.

The recipient of each prize will receive an unrestricted cash award of $100,000. Both will present lectures during the AACR Annual Meeting, April 12-16, 2008, in San Diego, Calif., to stimulate and inspire their colleagues to new thinking and fresh approaches in both basic and translational cancer research. They will also participate in the annual Landon-AACR Prize Symposium at the University of Miami/Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center in January 2009.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.