Deliver Your News to the World

New movers and shakers in the world of sport


The 119th IOC Session today elected four new members, re-elected Gerhard Heiberg to the Executive Board (EB) and nominated three honorary members.

Women in sport: an IOC focus
The election of HRH Princess Haya bint Al-Hussein (United Arab Emirates), President of the International Equestrian Federation, and Rita Subowo (Indonesia), President of the Indonesian Olympic Committee, strongly reflects the IOC’s desire to lead by example as regards its policy of increasing the number of women in sports organisations. The number of female IOC members is now 16. Elected alongside them were Patrick Baumann (Switzerland), Secretary General of the International Basketball Federation (FIBA), and Andrés Botero (Colombia), President of the Colombian Olympic Committee. These four new members will serve a term of office of eight years. As of today, the IOC has 115 members.

Executive Board elections
Gerhard Heiberg has been re-elected to the EB as a member for a new four–year term of office. An IOC member since 1994, Heiberg is currently Chairman of the IOC Marketing Commission and a member of the TV Rights and New Media Commission. Chaired by President Rogge, the EB now comprises Gunilla Lindberg, Lambis V. Nikolaou, Chiharu Igaya and Thomas Bach as Vice-Presidents; and Denis Oswald, Mario Vázquez Raña, Ottavio Cinquanta, Sergey Bubka, Zaiqing Yu, Richard L. Carrión, Ser Miang Ng, Mario Pescante, Sam Ramsamy and Gerhard Heiberg.

Three IOC honorary members
Reaching the age limit of 80 years old, Shagdarjay Magvan (Mongolia), Anani Matthia (Togo) and Ram Ruhee (Mauritius), will cease to be IOC members at the end of this year. Upon the proposal of the EB, after serving more than 10 years and having rendered exceptional services to the IOC, they have been elected by the IOC Session as IOC honorary members. Magvan has been an IOC member since 1977, Matthia since 1983 and Ruhee since 1988. Furthermore, Henri Sérandour (France) will also cease to be a member at the end of 2007. However, as he was elected in 2000, he will not become an IOC honorary member.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.