Deliver Your News to the World

EPA proposes 8 Ohio counties for ozone standard redesignation


U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 announced today it is proposing to approve a request by the state of Ohio to redesignate Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Knox, Licking and Madison counties in the Columbus area and Lucas and Wood counties in the Toledo area to attainment of the national health-based eight-hour outdoor air quality standard for ozone (smog).

EPA said complete, quality-assured, outdoor air monitoring data from the counties for 2004, 2005 and 2006 meet the standard.

The Agency also proposed to approve the state plan to continue to meet the eight-hour health-based ozone standard through 2020 and to approve motor vehicle emissions budgets included in the plan.

The actions will soon be published in the Federal Register. The public will then have 30 days to comment on the proposed actions. Comments may be entered at For the Columbus area, refer to docket ID No. EPA-R05-OAR-2007-0025, and for the Toledo area, refer to docket ID No. EPA-R05-OAR-2007-0001. For both dockets, follow the online instructions for submitting comments. Comments may also be sent by e-mail to, or faxed to 312-886-5824

Ground-level ozone is commonly referred to as smog. Smog is formed when a mixture of pollutants react on warm, sunny days. The pollutants are released from cars, factories and a wide variety of other sources. Smog can cause respiratory problems, including coughing, wheezing, shortness of breath and chest pain.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.