Deliver Your News to the World

Johanns Announces National Pork Board Appointments


Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns today announced five appointments to the 15-member National Pork Board. Each appointee will serve three-year terms.

“I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to provide their time and expertise,” said Johanns. The five were chosen from among eight pork producers nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body during its meeting in Anaheim, Calif., in February.

The appointees are: Tim A. Bierman, Larrabee, Iowa; Henry E. Moore, Clinton, N.C.; G. Steven Weaver, Elk Grove, Calif.; Bruce A. Samson, Three Forks, Mont.; and Everett L. Forkner, Richards, Mo.

Established under the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985, the National Pork Board develops budgets and awards contracts to carry out a coordinated program designed to strengthen the position of pork in the marketplace. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service oversees the operation of the board.

The mandatory program is funded by an assessment of 0.40 percent of the market value of all hogs sold in the United States and an equivalent amount on imported hogs, pork, and pork products.

An electronic version of this document can be obtained via the World Wide Web at:


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.