Deliver Your News to the World

EPA Grant to Help Montgomery and Bourbon County School Boards to Reduce School Bus Diesel Emissions


As part of EPA’s Clean School Bus USA program, the Southeast Diesel Collaborative will present a grant for $171,000 to the School Boards of Montgomery and Bourbon Counties, KY, to retrofit 51 buses. The grant to these School Boards is one of four being awarded in the Southeast this year, totaling $680,000.

This year, EPA nationally awarded 43 grants totaling $7.5 million through the National Clean Diesel Campaign and the Clean School Bus USA program. These initiatives encourage policies and practices to eliminate unnecessary school bus idling, install effective emission control systems on newer buses and replace the oldest buses with cleaner diesel or compressed natural gas-powered buses. The grant recipients are contributing an additional $11,239 in matching funds and in-kind services.

WHO: EPA Deputy Division Director Carol Kemker; Kentucky Environmental and Public Protection Cabinet Deputy Secretary Lloyd Cress; Montgomery County School Superintendent Dr. Daniel Freeman; Montgomery County School Board Transportation Director Karen Gullett; Montgomery County Director of Nursing Shanda Brewer; Bourbon County School Superintendent Lana Fryman; Bourbon County Director of District Planning Jim Dickerson; Kentucky Division for Air Quality Director John Lyons

WHAT: Southeast Diesel Collaborative Clean School Bus USA Grant

WHEN: May 24, 2007 at 1:30 P.M.

WHERE: Montgomery School District Transportation Garage
399 Calk Avenue
Mount Sterling, Kentucky


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.