Deliver Your News to the World

Four incumbents, three new members elected to AP board


NEW YORK -- Four incumbents and three new members were elected to the board of directors of The Associated Press in results announced Monday at the annual meeting of the news cooperative.

Re-elected to three-year terms are Boisfeuillet Jones, Jr., publisher and CEO of the Washington Post; Mary E. Junck, president and CEO of Lee Enterprises, Inc.; Steven O. Newhouse, chairman of Advance.Net; and R. Jack Fishman, publisher and editor of the Citizen Tribune in Morristown, Tenn.

The new members are Charles V. Pittman, senior vice president-newspapers at Schurz Communications, Inc., Mary Jacobus, president and chief operating officer of The New York Times Company’s Regional Media Group, and Victor F. Ganzi, president and chief executive officer of Hearst Corporation.

Ganzi will serve the one year remaining in the unexpired term of Burl Osborne, publisher emeritus of The Dallas Morning News, who is stepping down as chairman as he retires from the board, passing the gavel to incoming chairman W. Dean Singleton, vice chairman and chief executive officer of MediaNews Group, Inc.

Julie Inskeep, publisher of The Journal Gazette in Ft. Wayne, Ind., and David Lord, president of Pioneer Newspapers, Inc., have each been appointed to the AP board for a two-year term.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.