Deliver Your News to the World

Department of Energy Receives Highest Transportation Industry Safety Award


WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) today received the Transportation Community Awareness and Emergency Response (TRANSCAER) Chairman’s Award, one of industry’s highest transportation safety awards, for helping local communities in emergency preparedness and response. TRANSCAER is a voluntary national organization that assists communities in emergency preparedness and response.

“I’m very proud that The Department of Energy has raised the bar for community-based transportation emergency preparedness,” Secretary of Energy Samuel W. Bodman said. "Safety is our number one priority, and we will continue to help local communities be safe and secure.”

TRANSCAER Chairman Bill Macready presented the TRANSCAER Chairman’s Award to Secretary Bodman for the model Commodity Flow Surveys DOE conducted, which provide critical data to states and local communities for transportation emergency preparedness.

“In the true spirit of TRANSCAER, DOE encouraged citizens, industry and responders to work together to fully understand and prepare for potential hazardous materials transportation incidents. TRANSCAER is proud to have DOE as a Partner and looks forward to DOE’s continuing leadership” Bill Macready stated.

DOE’s Office of Environment Management safely transported more than 10,000 safely-transported radioactive shipments in 2005 and 2006. As a result of DOE’s work, the National Academy of Sciences is utilizing DOE’s approach to develop its own Commodity Flow Survey Guide for community groups throughout the United States. The TRANSCAER Chairman’s Award is awarded only when the National TRANSCAER Committee determines an exceptional effort should be recognized. DOE is the first federal agency to receive this award, and is one of only two recipients of the Chairman’s Award, in its 15-year history.

DOE’s Commodity Flow Survey efforts, coupled with DOE’s renowned Transportation Emergency Preparedness Program and associated Modular Emergency Response Radiological Training Program, form the basis for the Department’s outreach efforts and this award.

Media contact(s):
Megan Barnett, (202) 586-4940


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.