Deliver Your News to the World

Adobe Announces Winners of 2005 Adobe Design Achievement Awards


1,500 College Students from Ten Countries Competed in Fifth Annual Awards Program

SAN JOSE, CA — July 22, 2005 — Adobe Systems Incorporated (Nasdaq:ADBE) today announced the winners of the fifth annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards, a program that honors talented student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers and computer artists from the world’s top design, film and broadcast schools. Using the latest Adobe products, more than 1,500 students from Australia, Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, New Zealand, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States competed in the annual competition.

“The Adobe Design Achievement Awards recognizes the talents of future creative professionals from around the world,” said Melissa Dyrdahl, senior vice president of corporate marketing and communications at Adobe. “As we celebrate the program’s fifth year, this competition continues to serve as a powerful way to recognize a new generation of creative professionals, showcase remarkable student work, and kick start some promising young careers.”

In a ceremony last night at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York, students were recognized for their achievements in nine categories:

-- In the Animation category, the winner was Yibi Hu from Kingston University in London, and finalists were Sean Jimenez from California Institute of the Arts in Valencia, Calif. and Megan Kelly from San Jose State University in San Jose, Calif.

-- In the Broadcast Design category, the winner was Andreas Gaschka from Fachhochschule Mainz University of Applied Sciences in Mainz, Germany, and finalists were Eric Edwards from Savannah College of Art and Design in Savannah, Ga. and Will Johnson also from Savannah College of Art and Design.

-- In the Digital Illustration category, the winner was Klaas Neumann from Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften in Hamburg Germany, and finalists were Elliot Lim from Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, Calif. and Rebecca Shostak from the University of California, Los Angeles.

-- In the Digital Photography category, the winner was Micah Ganske from Yale School of Art in New Haven, Conn., and finalists were Elizabeth Buchta from California Institute of the Arts and David Field from Savannah College of Art and Design.

-- In the Environmental Graphics category, the winner was Hildegard Brinkel from Hochschule Anhalt (FH) - Anhalt University of Applied Science in Bernberg, Germany, and finalists were Jens Kretschmer from Universität Stuttgart in Stuttgart, Germany, and Mary Prendergast from University of Notre Dame in Notre Dame, Ind.

-- In the Interactive Design category, the winner was Jeff Krichmar from Ringling School of Art and Design in Sarasota, Fla., and the finalist was Elsa Chaves, also from Ringling School of Art and Design.

-- In the Print category, the winner was Roxane Zargham from the University of California, Los Angeles, and finalists were Emily Lessard from Yale School of Art and Marius Lohmann from Fachhochschule Aachen in Aachen, Germany.

-- In the Self Expression category, the winner was Chean Wei Law from Ringling School of Art and Design, and finalists were Emory Allen from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and Crista Hirzel from Massachusetts College of Art in Boston.

-- In the Time-Based Media category, the winner was Sophie Clements from Royal College of Art in London, and finalists were Christoph Behm from Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Braunschweig, Germany and Yongjin Park from The School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

As part of the awards program, Adobe organized a day of tours through New York’s top studios. Twelve studios opened their doors to allow students to meet with the principals and see, first hand, how a professional studio operates. The studios include C&G Partners LLC, GQ Magazine, karlssonwilker, Inc., MTV Networks Creative Services, Number Seventeen, O, The Oprah Magazine, Ogilvy & Mather Brand Integration Group, PAPER Magazine, Pentagram, R/GA, Two Twelve Associates and VH-1.

Winners were selected based on overall impact, design execution and technical capabilities. Finalists received a trip to New York City to participate in the awards event, and to showcase their work. First place entries received US$5,000 and a selection of Adobe products. The winning entries can be viewed at . Judges for this year’s awards included: Matthew Richmond from The Chopping Block Inc., Gail Anderson from SpotCo, Kathy Fredrickson from Studio Blue, Timothy Mason from WXIA-TV, Dava Guthmiller from Noise 13, and Frank Gladstone from IDT Entertainment.
About Adobe Systems Incorporated

Adobe is the world’s leading provider of software solutions to create, manage and deliver high-impact, reliable digital content. For more information, visit .


© 2005 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved. Adobe and the Adobe logo are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.