Deliver Your News to the World

FieldTurf Going Down At Legendary Ohio Stadium


COLUMBUS, Ohio - In one of the most significant artificial turf announcements in recent years, Ohio State University has selected FieldTurf for installation at legendary and historic Ohio Stadium. The announcement was made by FieldTurf Tarkett CEO John Gilman. The new turf will debut when Ohio State hosts Youngstown State in its 2007 opener on September 1.

FieldTurf will replace the natural grass that the Buckeyes have been playing on since 1990. Prior to that, OSU played on an artificial turf surface from 1970-89. The Buckeyes will become the fourth Big Ten university to have FieldTurf in their football stadium, joining Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin.

Ohio Stadium is one of the most famous in all of college football. Listed in the National Registry of Historic Places, it has been home to the Buckeyes since 1922. With a seating capacity of 101,568, it is the fourth-largest on-campus facility in the United States.

“We are extremely pleased to have earned the confidence of the Ohio State administration and coaches,” said Gilman. “Certainly, this is one of our most significant collegiate installations, and we very much recognize the tradition and the history of both the Buckeyes and of Ohio Stadium. Year-in and year-out, ’The Horseshoe’ is one of the most instantly recognizable stadiums in the nation, and the fact that it will now be covered with FieldTurf is something that we’re very excited about. The Bucks are getting the most state-of-the-art surface available anywhere in the world, and I’m absolutely confident that the OSU coaches and players will be very happy with the playability and the consistency of their new FieldTurf.”

Ohio Stadium has consistently boasted some of the nation’s highest attendance figures. Since 1949, Ohio State has never been lower than fourth nationally in average home attendance. Since Ohio Stadium debuted on October 7, 1922, more than 36 million fans have attended Buckeye games there. The 2007 season will mark the Buckeyes’ 84th season at Ohio Stadium.

Ohio State football is one of the most decorated programs in NCAA history. The Buckeyes have won or shared the national championship five times, in 1942, 1954, 1957, 1968 and 2002. In addition, Ohio State players have captured seven Heisman Trophies, including Troy Smith (2006), Eddie George (1995), Archie Griffin (1974 & 1975), Howard Cassady (1955), Vic Janowicz (1950) and Les Horvath (1944).

More than 40 major NCAA universities have FieldTurf in their stadiums, with many more utilizing it at their practice sites. In addition to the previously mentioned Big Ten schools, other universities who have FieldTurf in their football stadiums include Nebraska, Boston College, Rutgers, Oregon, Washington, Kansas State, Louisville, Syracuse, Texas Tech and Missouri. In addition, 21 of the National Football League’s 32 teams have FieldTurf at their stadiums and/or practice complexes. Also, Major League Baseball’s Tampa Bay Devil Rays, Minnesota Twins and Toronto Blue Jays have FieldTurf at their respective stadiums.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.