Deliver Your News to the World

EPA proposes 3 Ohio counties for ozone standard redesignation


U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 announced today it is proposing to approve a request by the state of Ohio to redesignate Mahoning, Trumbull and Columbiana counties in the Youngstown metropolitan area to attainment of the national health-based eight-hour outdoor air quality standard for ozone (smog).

EPA said complete, quality-assured, outdoor air monitoring data for 2004, 2005 and 2006 show the counties are meeting the standard.

EPA Region 3 will address Pennsylvania’s request for redesignation of Mercer County in the Youngstown area.

Region 5 also proposed to approve the state plan to continue to meet the eight-hour health-based ozone standard for at least the next 10 years and to approve motor vehicle emissions budgets.

The action will soon be published in the Federal Register. The public then will have 30 days to comment on the proposed action. Comments may be entered at Refer to docket ID No. EPA-R05-OAR-2006-1022 and follow the online instructions for submitting comments. Comments may also be sent by e-mail to, or faxed to (312) 886-5824. For additional information, contact Patricia Morris at (312) 353-8656.

Ground-level ozone is commonly referred to as smog. Smog is formed when a mixture of pollutants react on warm, sunny days. The pollutants are released from cars, factories and a wide variety of other sources. Smog can cause respiratory problems, including coughing, wheezing, shortness of breath and chest pain.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.