Deliver Your News to the World

Toronto International Film Festival honours Vicky Krieps with the TIFF Tribute Performer Award

Award-winning actor will be honoured in Toronto on September 10, joining previously announced recipients to date: Pedro Almodóvar, Spike Lee, Andy Lau, Carolina Markowicz, Łukasz Żal, Colman Domingo, and Shawn Levy


Cameron Bailey, CEO of TIFF, is delighted to announce that award-winning actor Vicky Krieps will receive the TIFF Tribute Performer Award at the fifth annual Awards gala on Sunday, September 10, at Fairmont Royal York Hotel. Presented by Bulgari, the TIFF Tribute Awards honour the film industry’s outstanding contributors and their achievements, recognizing leading industry members, acting talent, directorial expertise, new talent, and a below-the-line artist and creator.

Krieps is being recognized for her outstanding body of work and returns to the Festival this year for the World Premiere of Viggo Mortensen’s The Dead Don’t Hurt. The Luxembourgish, Berlin-based actor joins recently announced fellow Tribute Performer Award recipient Colman Domingo in this prestigious acting category. Past recipients of this Award include Brendan Fraser and the ensemble cast of My Policeman in 2022; Jessica Chastain and Benedict Cumberbatch in 2021; Kate Winslet and Sir Anthony Hopkins in 2020; and Meryl Streep and Joaquin Phoenix in 2019.

“Vicky’s transformative performances illuminate the screen, weaving emotions into a tapestry of storytelling,” said Bailey. “Her dedication to her craft and her ability to embody diverse roles with profound authenticity make her a true luminary in the realm of cinema.”

Krieps, who has established a career of playing a wide range of roles, is best known for her breakthrough role in Paul Thomas Anderson’s Phantom Thread starring opposite Daniel Day-Lewis, and standout performances in past Festival selections, including Bergman IslandCorsage, and The Survivor. In The Dead Don’t Hurt, Krieps plays Vivienne Le Coudy, a fiercely independent French-Canadian flower seller, starring alongside Mortensen, who plays a Danish carpenter, in his 1860s-set feminist western about immigrants attempting to forge a life in a corrupt Nevada town.

In addition to Krieps and Domingo, the 2023 TIFF Tribute Award honourees to date are: Andy Lau, recipient of the Special Tribute Award; Carolina Markowicz, recipient of the TIFF Emerging Talent Award presented by MGM Studios; Łukasz Żal, recipient of the TIFF Variety Artisan Award; Shawn Levy, recipient of the Norman Jewison Career Achievement Award presented by The Budman Family; Pedro Almodóvar, recipient of the Jeff Skoll Award in Impact Media presented by Participant; and Spike Lee, recipient of the TIFF Ebert Director Award.

The Tribute Awards gala is TIFF’s largest annual fundraiser, having raised $1.3 million in 2022, and is presented by Bulgari, sharing their commitment to arts and culture along with TIFF. This year, the Tribute Awards gala will support the Viola Desmond Cinema campaign, which was launched through the Every Story Fund in 2022. For more information, visit

Vicky Krieps bio
Vicky Krieps is an internationally acclaimed actor whose work spans across some of the most renowned projects in film and television. She stars in Viggo Mortensen’s western The Dead Don’t Hurt, which will be making its World Premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival. She will next be seen in Emily Atef’s More Than Ever; Martin Bourboulon’s The Three Musketeers: Milady, starring alongside Eva Green and Vincent Cassel; and in Rebecca Lenkiewicz’s directorial debut Hot Milk, alongside Emma Mackey, Fiona Shaw, and Vincent Perez. She recently completed filming Samuel Van Grinsven’s ghost story drama Went Up the Hill, alongside Dacre Montgomery.

She received critical acclaim for her role as Empress Elisabeth of Austria in Marie Kreutzer’s Corsage for which she received the Best Performance Award for the festival’s Un Certain Regard selection in Cannes, as well as Best European Actress at the European Film Awards. She also received a César Award nomination in the category of Best Actress for her performance in Mathieu Amalric’s Hold Me Tight.

Additional acclaimed works in which Krieps has starred include Paul Thomas Anderson’s Phantom Thread; Philippe Van Leeuw’s The Wall; Margarethe von Trotta’s Ingeborg Bachmann – Journey Into the Desert; Mia Hansen-Løve’s drama Bergman Island; Barry Levinson’s The Survivor; M. Night Shyamalan’s supernatural thriller Old; Ferdinando Cito Filomarino’s Beckett opposite John David Washington and Alicia Vikander; Govinda Van Maele’s Gutland; Raoul Peck’s The Young Karl Marx; Fede Alvarez’s The Girl in the Spider’s Web alongside Claire Foy and Sverrir Gudnason; Marie Kreutzer’s We Used to Be Cool; the TV mini-series Das Boot; and Florian Gallenberger’s The Colony, alongside Emma Watson and Daniel Brühl.


The Toronto International Film Festival takes place September 7–17, 2023.

TIFF will respect SAG-AFTRA protocols regarding the participation of its members at the Festival.

The Toronto International Film Festival takes place September 7–17, 2023. Tickets are on sale now at

About TIFF
TIFF is a not-for-profit cultural organization whose mission is to transform the way people see the world through film. An international leader in film culture, TIFF projects include the annual Toronto International Film Festival in September; TIFF Bell Lightbox, which features five cinemas, learning and entertainment facilities; and innovative national distribution program Film Circuit. The organization generates an annual economic impact of $200 million CAD. TIFF Bell Lightbox is generously supported by contributors including Founding Sponsor Bell, the Province of Ontario, the Government of Canada, the City of Toronto, the Reitman family (Ivan Reitman, Agi Mandel and Susan Michaels), The Daniels Corporation and RBC. For more information, visit

TIFF is generously supported by Lead Sponsor Bell, Major Sponsors RBC, Visa, and BVLGARI®, and Major Supporters the Government of Ontario, Telefilm Canada, and the City of Toronto.

Artscape Sandbox is the Official home of the 2023 Press Office & The Media Inclusion Initiative.

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.