Deliver Your News to the World

Hana Biosciences Appoints Dr. Leon E. Rosenberg Chairman Of Its Board Of Directors


Hana Biosciences (Nasdaq:HNAB), a biopharmaceutical company focused on advancing cancer care, today announced the company’s Board of Directors has appointed Leon E. Rosenberg, M.D., as its non-executive chairman. Dr. Rosenberg is the former head of the Pharmaceutical Research Institute at Bristol-Myers Squibb and former Dean of the Yale University School of Medicine. Dr. Rosenberg has been serving as a director of the company since February 2004.

“Dr. Rosenberg has been a tremendous asset to our Board of Directors over the past several years and we look forward to his continuing guidance and leadership. We are pleased that the board has chosen to expand his role as our new chairman, based on Dr. Rosenberg’s demonstrated vision and industry experience,” stated Mark Ahn, Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer.

“I appreciate the confidence our board has expressed by electing me chairman at this pivotal time in our company’s evolution,” said Dr. Rosenberg. “Hana Biosciences has the potential to be a leader in the development and commercialization of novel products to improve care of cancer patients. I wish to see this potential become a reality.”

Dr. Rosenberg has spent more than three decades in leadership roles in academia and the pharmaceutical industry. He is currently a Professor in the Princeton University Department of Molecular Biology and the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs. From 1997 to 1998, Dr. Rosenberg served as Senior Vice President for Scientific Affairs of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, and from 1991 to 1997, he served as President of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceutical Research Institute, where he was the company’s Chief Scientific Officer. Prior to Bristol-Myers Squibb, Dr. Rosenberg was Dean of the Yale University School of Medicine from 1984 to 1991, and before that, chair of Human Genetics from 1972 to 1984. Dr. Rosenberg also serves on the Boards of Directors of Karo Bio AB, and the Medicines for Malaria Venture. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.