Deliver Your News to the World

Media invitation: First data from Europe’s first lightning detector

Media representatives are invited to discover the first results from Europe’s first Lightning Imager on Monday 3 July 2023 at 14:00 CEST.


The instrument is flown onboard Europe’s newest and most advanced weather satellite, the Meteosat Third Generation Imager-1 (MTG-I1).

The Lightning Imager can detect lightning events in the sky, whether day or night. This is the first time a geostationary weather satellite has the capability to detect lightning across Europe, Africa and the surrounding waters.

ESA, Eumetsat and the instrument’s developers, Leonardo, will jointly release and discuss the first results and visualisations produced from the Lighting Imager during an online media event on Monday 3 July 2023.

Data from the Lightning Imager will give weather forecasters greater confidence in their predictions of severe storms. Data from the instrument is expected to become available to weather services throughout Europe and beyond for use in their weather forecasts from early 2024.

Online press briefing in English

Monday 3 July 2023, 14:00 – 15:00 CEST


  • Phil Evans, Eumetsat Director-General,
  • Simonetta Cheli, ESA Director of Earth Observation Programmes
  • Guia Pastorini, Leonardo Project Engineering Manager for the Lightning Imager

Eumetsat’s MTG Programme Scientist Jochen Grandell and ESA’s MTG Instrument Performance and Commissioning Engineer Pierre Kokou will be on stand-by to answer scientific and technical questions.

Media registration

Please express interest by Friday 30 June at 17:00 CEST by completing the relevant form:

After registering, media will receive additional information and the link to join the online information session (on Zoom).

The media information session will also be streamed via (Channel 2).

Further information

Meteosat Third Generation

Meteosat Third Generation Imager-1

Meteosat Third Generation media kit

Social media

Follow ESA on

Twitter:  @esa @ESA_EO 
Facebook: @EuropeanSpaceAgency
Instagram: @europeanspaceagency @ESA_Earth
LinkedIn: European Space Agency - ESA
Pinterest: European Space Agency - ESA


ESA’s Photo Library for Professionals:

Terms and conditions for using ESA images:

For questions or more information related to ESA images, please contact directly


ESA’s Video Library for Professionals:

Terms and conditions for using ESA videos:

For questions or more information related to ESA videos, please contact directly

About the European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) provides Europe’s gateway to space.

ESA is an intergovernmental organisation, created in 1975, with the mission to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space delivers benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world

ESA has 22 Member States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia are Associate Members.

ESA has established formal cooperation with four Member States of the EU. Canada takes part in some ESA programmes under a Cooperation Agreement.

By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, ESA can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country. It is working in particular with the EU on implementing the Galileo and Copernicus programmes as well as with Eumetsat for the development of meteorological missions.

Learn more about ESA at

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.