Deliver Your News to the World

Kyle Busch Scores 600th Win for Chevrolet in NASCAR Nextel Cup Competition at Bristol Motor Speedway; Bowtie Brand Continues Status as Winningest Manufacturer in NASCAR


Victory in Food City 500 Marks First Win for Impala SS in Return to Competition; Win by No. 5 CARQUET/Kellogg’s Impala SS is 200th NASCAR Victory for Rick Hendrick as a Car Owner in Cup, Busch, and Truck Combined

Bristol, TN - Today’s victory for Kyle Busch, No. 5 CARQUEST/Kellogg’s Impala SS, at Bristol Motor Speedway marks the 600th win for Chevrolet in NASCAR Nextel Cup Competition - a historical landmark that continues the Bowtie Brand as the most successful manufacturer in NASCAR history.

In addition to claiming the unequaled 600th win for Chevy, Busch’s winning effort in the Food City 500 marks victory number one, 61 total, for Impala SS making its return to NASCAR competition today at Bristol. When the Impala SS brand competed in NASCAR from 1959 to 1964, the legendary nameplate scored 60 wins, including the first-ever event in which it competed. On February 20, 1959, Bob Welborn took the victory at Daytona.

“Today’s 600th Chevrolet win by Kyle Busch is a monumental achievement in Chevy’s storied racing history,” said Ed Peper, Chevrolet general manager. "Everyone at Chevrolet is proud of the efforts made by our teams, drivers and each individual within the General Motors family whose efforts have gone toward making Chevrolet the winningest manufacturer in NASCAR.

"It is equally exciting for us to have Impala SS score a first win in its debut as NASCAR’s new-generation race car. Since the Impala introduction to the NASCAR circuit in 1959, the legendary nameplate continues to be at the forefront of the Chevrolet lineup. The transition back to the race track gives NASCAR fans a tremendous opportunity to follow the success of our flagship model from the track to the showroom.

“Congratulations to Kyle Busch and his Hendrick Motorsports CARQUEST/Kellogg’s team on their 200th win as an organization and for getting Chevy this incredible benchmark in the highly competitive NASCAR Nextel Cup Series.”

Team Chevy drivers have the strength of the formidable GM Racing engineering and marketing divisions behind them - a near-unbeatable combination that has created a remarkable racing heritage. Before it even took to the track in Bristol, Impala had already achieved consecutive NASCAR titles in 1960 and 1961 as well 60 race wins including the inaugural Impala race in 1959 at Daytona International Speedway.

In addition to Impala’s success, Chevrolet’s history of NASCAR racing accolades includes 23 driver titles, 30 manufacturer championships as a result of its 600 victories. Chevrolet’s closest competitor for all-time NASCAR victories trails by the equivalent of a full-season of race wins (22).


1955: Fonty Flock took the first ever win for Chevrolet on March 26, 1955 at Columbia Speedway in South Carolina

1955 - ’58 = Chevrolet scored 51 wins: all were Bel Air or Biscayne

1959: Bob Welborn took the first-ever win for Impala when it was raced for the first time on February 20, 1959 at Daytona (in those days, Grand National qualifying races were counted as point-paying races and NASCAR records reflect that statistic)

1959 = Chevrolet scored 16 wins: 3 were Bel Air; 13 were Impala

1960 -’64 = Chevrolet scored 47 wins: all in Impala
· Last Impala win was by Wendell Scott, Jacksonville Speedway Park in Jacksonville, FL on 12/1/63 (was a point-paying race for 1964 season)

1965 = No Chevrolet wins

1966 -’68 = Chevrolet scored 7 wins - all were Chevelle, and all by Bobby Allison

1969 -’70 = No Chevrolet wins

1971: The Monte Carlo was raced for the first time in May 1971 at the World 600 in Concord, NC at what is now Lowe’s Motor Speedway.
· Charlie Glotzbach took the first ever win for Monte Carlo on July 11, 1971 at Bristol Motor Speedway.

1971 = Chevrolet scored 3 wins: 2 were Camaro, 1 was Monte Carlo

1972 - April 23, 1989 = Chevrolet scored 218 wins: all were Monte Carlo
· Darrell Waltrip took the last race win in the third generation Monte Carlo on April 23, 1989 at Martinsville

1989: The Lumina was raced for the first time on May 7, 1989 at Talladega

May 7, 1989 - 1994 = Chevrolet scored 61 wins: all were Lumina
· First Lumina win was by Darrell Waltrip in Concord, NC at what is now Lowe’s Motor Speedway on May 28, 1989
· Last Lumina win was by Terry Labonte at Phoenix International Raceway on October 30, 1994

1995 - ’06 = Chevrolet scored 193 wins: all Monte Carlo
· First win for Monte Carlo’s return to NASCAR competition was February 19, 1995 by Sterling Marlin in the Daytona 500

2007 = Chevrolet has scored 4 wins to date: 3 for Monte Carlo SS and 1 for Impala SS

Wins By Brand:
Monte Carlo: 415
Lumina = 61
Impala = 61
Bel Air or Biscayne = 54
Chevelle = 7
Camaro = 2
Total Chevrolet Wins: 600


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.