Deliver Your News to the World

The 2023 Pulitzer Prize Announcement

New York, NY – WEBWIRE

Columbia University today announces the 2023 Pulitzer Prizes, awarded on the recommendation of the Pulitzer Prize Board.

For more information on this year’s Prize winners and finalists in Journalism, Books, Drama and Music, please visit the Prize Winner section of to find biographical information and read winning & nominated work in Journalism.

The 2023 Pulitzer Prize winners are:JournalismPublic Service

Associated Press, for the work of Mstyslav Chernov, Evgeniy Maloletka, Vasilisa Stepanenko and Lori Hinnant


Austin American-Statesman, in collaboration with the USA Today Network

The Washington Post

Breaking News Reporting

Staff of the Los Angeles Times


Josh Gerstein, Alex Ward, Peter S. Canellos, Hailey Fuchs and Heidi Przybyla of Politico

Staff of The New York Times

Investigative Reporting

Staff of The Wall Street Journal


Joaquin Palomino and Trisha Thadani of the San Francisco Chronicle

Staff of the Star Tribune, Minneapolis, Minn.

Explanatory Reporting

Caitlin Dickerson of The Atlantic


Duaa Eldeib of ProPublica

Terrence McCoy of The Washington Post

Local Reporting

Anna Wolfe of Mississippi Today, Ridgeland, Miss.

John Archibald, Ashley Remkus, Ramsey Archibald and Challen Stephens of, Birmingham


Staff of the Los Angeles Times

National Reporting

Caroline Kitchener of The Washington Post


Joshua Schneyer, Mica Rosenberg and Kristina Cooke of Reuters

Stephania Taladrid, contributing writer, The New Yorker

International Reporting

Staff of The New York Times


Paul Carsten, David Lewis, Reade Levinson and Libby George of Reuters

Yaroslav Trofimov and James Marson of The Wall Street Journal

Feature Writing

Eli Saslow of The Washington Post


Elizabeth Bruenig of The Atlantic

Janelle Nanos of The Boston Globe


Kyle Whitmire of, Birmingham


Monica Hesse of The Washington Post

Xochitl Gonzalez of The Atlantic


Andrea Long Chu of New York magazine


Jason Farago of The New York Times

Lyndsay C. Green of the Detroit Free Press

Editorial Writing

Nancy Ancrum, Amy Driscoll, Luisa Yanez, Isadora Rangel and Lauren Costantino of the Miami Herald


Alex Kingsbury of The New York Times

Lisa Falkenberg, Joe Holley, Nick Powell and the late Michael Lindenberger of the Houston Chronicle

Illustrated Reporting and Commentary

Mona Chalabi, contributor, The New York Times


Matt Davies of Newsday, Long Island, N.Y.

Pia Guerra, contributor, The Washington Post

Breaking News Photography

Photography Staff of Associated Press


Lynsey Addario of The New York Times

Rafiq Maqbool and Eranga Jayawardena of Associated Press

Feature Photography

Christina House of the Los Angeles Times


Gabrielle Lurie and Stephen Lam of the San Francisco Chronicle

Photography Staff of Associated Press

Audio Reporting

Staff of Gimlet Media, notably Connie Walker


Jenn Abelson, Nicole Dungca, Reena Flores, Sabby Robinson and Linah Mohammad of The Washington Post

Kate Wells, Sarah Hulett, Lindsey Smith, Laura Weber-Davis and Paulette Parker of Michigan Radio

Books, Drama and MusicFiction

“Demon Copperhead,” by Barbara Kingsolver (Harper)

“Trust,” by Hernan Diaz (Riverhead Books)


“The Immortal King Rao,” by Vauhini Vara (W. W. Norton & Company)


“English,” by Sanaz Toossi


“On Sugarland,” by Aleshea Harris

“The Far Country,” by Lloyd Suh


“Freedom’s Dominion: A Saga of White Resistance to Federal Power,” by Jefferson Cowie (Basic Books)


“Seeing Red: Indigenous Land, American Expansion, and the Political Economy of Plunder in North America,” by Michael John Witgen (Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture/University of North Carolina Press)

“Watergate: A New History,” by Garrett M. Graff (Avid Reader Press/Simon & Schuster)


“G-Man: J. Edgar Hoover and the Making of the American Century,” by Beverly Gage (Viking)


“His Name is George Floyd,” by Robert Samuels and Toluse Olorunnipa (Viking)

“Mr. B: George Balanchine’s 20th Century,” by Jennifer Homans (Random House)

Memoir or Autobiography

“Stay True,” by Hua Hsu (Doubleday)


“Easy Beauty: A Memoir,” by Chloé Cooper Jones (Avid Reader Press/Simon & Schuster)

“The Man Who Could Move Clouds: A Memoir,” by Ingrid Rojas Contreras (Doubleday)


“Then the War: And Selected Poems, 2007-2020,” by Carl Phillips (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)


“Blood Snow,” by dg nanouk okpik (Wave Books)

“Still Life,” by the late Jay Hopler (McSweeney’s)

General Nonfiction

“His Name is George Floyd,” by Robert Samuels and Toluse Olorunnipa (Viking)


“Kingdom of Characters: The Language Revolution That Made China Modern,” by Jing Tsu (Riverhead Books)

“Sounds Wild and Broken: Sonic Marvels, Evolution’s Creativity, and the Crisis of Sensory Extinction,” by David George Haskell (Viking)

“Under the Skin: The Hidden Toll of Racism on American Lives and on the Health of Our Nation,” by Linda Villarosa (Doubleday)


“Omar,” by Rhiannon Giddens and Michael Abels


“Monochromatic Light (Afterlife),” by Tyshawn Sorey

“Perspective,” by Jerrilynn Patton

A press kit (including the full long list of winners and finalists) is available at

The Pulitzer Prizes were established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher, who left money to Columbia University upon his death in 1911. A portion of his bequest was used to found the School of Journalism in 1912 and establish the Pulitzer Prizes, which were first awarded in 1917.

The 18-member Pulitzer Board is composed of leading journalists or news executives from media outlets across the U.S., as well as five academics or persons in the arts. The dean of Columbia’s journalism school and the administrator of the prizes are non-voting members. The chair rotates annually to the most senior member or members.

VIDEO: 2023 Pulitzer Prize Announcement

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.