Deliver Your News to the World

2022 BMW M Sports Trophy winners confirmed

Munich – WEBWIRE
Sebring (USA). GT4 America, BMW M4 GT4, SRO, BimmerWorld, James Clay, Charlie Postins.
Sebring (USA). GT4 America, BMW M4 GT4, SRO, BimmerWorld, James Clay, Charlie Postins.

The winners of the BMW M Sports Trophy, which was run for the 60th time in 2022, have been confirmed. The competition recognises the most successful teams and drivers competing privately around the world with BMW M Motorsport race cars, and victory in this year’s Driver competition went to North America. James Clay and Charlie Postins (both USA) from the BimmerWorld team took first place, thanks to their title win with the BMW M4 GT4 in the AM class of GT4 America. The Team competition was won by DTM champions Schubert Motorsport. BMW M Motorsport distributed a total prize purse of €350,000 between the top 25 drivers and ten teams of the season. The award ceremony took place last Saturday as part of an end-of-year event in Munich (GER).

“Congratulations to the winners of this year’s BMW M Sports Trophy – the 60th edition since it was launched,” said Björn Lellmann, Head of Customer Racing at BMW M Motorsport. “Their performances in our race cars make the teams and drivers battling for race wins and titles around the world the perfect ambassadors for BMW M Motorsport. In 2022 – in the first year of the BMW M4 GT3 and the last of the BMW M4 GT4 F82 – we enjoyed success in Europe, North America and Asia. I am glad to see an international mix in the overall standings in both the Driver and Team competitions. This shows that our cars – from the BMW M2 CS Racing, the BMW M4 GT4 and the BMW M4 GT3 to BMW race cars assembled independently – are both very popular and competitive. We will continue to uphold the decades-long tradition of the BMW M Sports Trophy in the future and are already looking forward to our next big anniversary.”

Clay and Postins took first place in the Driver competition thanks to seven class victories and a total of 13 podiums on their way to winning the title in the GT4 America AM class. They each received €27,500 in prize money for their efforts. Third place went to Maxime Oosten (NED), this year’s champion in the BMW M2 Cup and BMW M2 CS Racing Cup Benelux. He picked up a cheque for €21,500.

In the Team competition, Schubert Motorsport was rewarded for an outstanding season with first place in the BMW M Sports Trophy. The highlight of 2022 was winning the Driver and Team titles in the DTM. The team from Oschersleben (GER) also performed strongly in the ADAC GT Masters and at the Nürburgring 24 Hours (GER). Second and third place went to the BimmerWorld team and Adrenalin Motorsport Team Alzner Automotive. The top three teams were rewarded with €30,000, €20,000 and €15,000 respectively.

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.