Deliver Your News to the World

Universities, Students to Benefit from Louis Schwitzer Award Winners


WARRENDALE, Pa., May 20 -– In celebration of its 100th Anniversary, SAE International will go forward annually with the Louis Schwitzer Award’s presenter and sponsor (respectively), the Indiana Section of the Society of Automotive Engineers and BorgWarner Inc., by giving $1,000 for a scholarship in the winner’s name to his/her alma mater (See note 1). Further, if the award winner was also a member of a Formula SAE team as a student, the scholarship will be increased to $2,000.

The BorgWarner Louis Schwitzer Award is presented annually at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The award, presented by the Indiana Section of the Society of Automotive Engineers, honors early racing pioneer Louis Schwitzer, and acknowledges individuals with the courage and conviction to explore and develop new concepts in racing technology. It is considered by many to be the most prestigious engineering award in motorsports.

The connection to Formula SAE is fitting as well. Formula SAE held its first competition in 1981 – and was nicknamed “Mini Indy.” It is one of the featured events in the Collegiate Design Series and this year celebrates its 25th Anniversary.

In Formula SAE, student members conceive, design, fabricate and compete with small formula-style race cars; points are awarded for static events (presentation, design, cost analysis) and dynamic events (acceleration, skid-pad, autocross, fuel economy, endurance). Events are held currently in Australia, Brazil, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The U.S. leg in the 2005 Formula SAE Series is being held now through May 21, at the Pontiac Silverdome in Pontiac, Mich. FSAE is not only the largest student engineering design competition, but also is the world’s largest single-class motorsports event.

This year’s registered teams hail from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Finland, Germany, Japan, Mexico, Singapore, South Korea, the United Kingdom, Venezuela and the United States. In all, almost 300 universities worldwide have Formula SAE teams.


NOTE 1: The $1,000 scholarship for mechanical engineering is a one-time gift to be presented annually. In the case of a team winning the award, the benefiting institution will be decided among the award winners.


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.