Deliver Your News to the World

Sony Group Organizational Changes and Executive Appointments 2020

Transition to new management structure for Electronics Products & Solutions business

Tokyo, Japan – WEBWIRE

In May this year, Sony Corporation (“Sony”) announced a series of changes to the Sony Group’s organizational structure. A new overall management framework for Sony Group Corporation (“SGC”), and the Electronics Products & Solutions business (“EP&S”), that will succeed to the Sony Corporation company name, has been determined.

In the area of EP&S, Sony Electronics Corporation, Sony Imaging Products & Solutions Inc., Sony Home Entertainment & Sound Products Inc. and Sony Mobile Communications Inc. will be integrated and engage in the unified management of these businesses. Furthermore, certain support functions for the electronics business that have been carried out by the headquarters (the current Sony Corporation) until now, will be consolidated within the new integrated structure (Sony Corporation after April, 2021). This will further elevate the autonomy of each business; accelerate organizational, talent and business portfolio optimization; while also bolstering the capacity for new value creation.

In conjunction with the establishment of this structure, Kimio Maki will be appointed President and CEO of the new Sony Corporation. Under his leadership the company will introduce a renewed management structure, further reinforce its business foundations, and embark on new evolution and growth.

With regards to SGC, in order to further reinforce the technological strength that empowers all of the Sony Group’s businesses, Toru Katsumoto, Executive Deputy President, will be appointed CTO (Chief Technology Officer) of SGC, effective December 1, 2020. SGC will be dedicated to functioning as the headquarters of the Sony Group, and will lead and support the evolution of the Group’s businesses through its array of talent and technology, to drive further evolution and growth across the Sony Group.

Executive Appointments

Effective December 1, 2020

Sony Corporation (company name scheduled to change to “Sony Group Corporation” effective April 1, 2021)

Toru Katsumoto: Executive Deputy President and Chief Technology Officer, Corporate Executive Officer

Effective April 1, 2021

Sony Group Corporation: Shigeki Ishizuka: Vice Chairman, Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Support for Electronics Businesses

Sony Corporation (business entity newly formed by integrating the current EP&S business)

Members of the Board

Kimio Maki:  Representative Director

Kenichiro Yoshida:  Director and Chairman

Ichiro Takagi:  Director and Vice Chairman

Hiroki Totoki:  Director

Shigeki Ishizuka:  Director

Toru Katsumoto: Director

Hitoshi Korenaga:  Statutory Auditor

Executive Officers

Kimio Maki:  President and CEO

Kazuo Kii:  Executive Deputy President

Yoshinori Matsumoto:  Executive Deputy President

Hiroshi Kawano:  Executive Vice President

Mitsuya Kishida:  Executive Vice President

Masaru Tamagawa:  Senior Vice President

Hideyuki Furumi:  Senior Vice President

Michael Fasulo:   Senior Vice President

Hidehiko Teshirogi:  Senior Vice President

Masaaki Kojima:  Senior Vice President

Shigeru Kumekawa:  Senior Vice President

Hiroshi Takahashi:  Senior Vice President

Yuichi Oshima:  Senior Vice President and CFO


( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.