Deliver Your News to the World

Recipient of Hugo Boss Prize 2020 to Be Announced on October 22, 10 am ET


Since its inception in 1996, the Hugo Boss Prize has been a platform for the most relevant and influential art of the present. The biennial award for significant achievement in contemporary art is granted to one among a short list of six artists whose work is transforming the field, having been selected by a panel of international curators and critics. The Hugo Boss Prize sets no restrictions in terms of age, gender, nationality, or medium. The recipient will receive a $100,000 honorarium and will present a solo exhibition at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, in spring 2021.

On Thursday, October 22, at 10 am ET, the Guggenheim and HUGO BOSS will announce the recipient on and on

The following artists are nominees for the Hugo Boss Prize 2020:

  • Nairy Baghramian (b. 1971, Isfahan, Iran)
  • Kevin Beasley (b. 1985, Lynchburg, Va.)
  • Deana Lawson (b. 1979, Rochester, N.Y.)
  • Elias Sime (b. 1968, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia)
  • Cecilia Vicuña (b. 1948, Santiago, Chile)
  • Adrián Villar Rojas (b. 1980, Rosario, Argentina)

Bios for each artist are available at

Video profiles of each artist are posted on

The history of past finalists and recipients of the Hugo Boss Prize is at

Hugo Boss Prize Jury

The 2020 jury is comprised of Naomi Beckwith, Manilow Senior Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago; Katherine Brinson, Daskalopoulos Curator, Contemporary Art, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; Julieta González, independent curator; Christopher Y. Lew, Nancy and Fred Poses Curator, Whitney Museum of American Art; and Nat Trotman, Curator, Performance and Media, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum.

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.