Deliver Your News to the World

Outstanding Air Traffic Controllers Saluted with ’Archie League’ Award


WASHINGTON, May 16 -- The National Air Traffic Controllers Association (NATCA) today is saluting the best examples of air traffic controllers who displayed extraordinary skill to ensure safety in critical situations in 2004 with its first annual “Archie League Medal of Safety” awards.

Named for the first air traffic controller, NATCA is honoring 12 controllers from around the country who were involved in 10 different flight assists, or “saves.” They are:

-- Alaskan Region: Meaghan Howard, Anchorage Air Route Traffic Control Center

-- Central Region: Mark Goldstein, Wichita, Kan., Control Tower

-- Eastern Region (co-winner): Scott Dittamo, Newark, N.J., Control Tower

-- Eastern Region (co-winner): Greg Horne, Washington Dulles Control Tower

-- Great Lakes Region: Dan Hemenway, Madison, Wis., Tower and Terminal Radar Approach Control (TRACON)

-- New England Region: Ken Hopf, Boston TRACON

-- Northwest Mountain Region: Allan Blair, Portland, Ore., TRACON, and Brian Miller, Portland Control Tower

-- Southern Region: Cliff Murdock, Pensacola, Fla., TRACON

-- Southwest Region: Chris Owen, Fort Worth Air Route Traffic Control Center

-- Western Pacific Region: Al Hurst and Ron Chappell, Southern California TRACON

“This is a talented lineup of exceptional public servants who embody the very essence of our profession - the relentless work ethic and determination of ensuring the safety of the National Airspace System,” NATCA President John Carr said. “Our best work is often done in relative anonymity, but today, we are bringing our best of the best into the spotlight and saluting them for a job well done.”

The winners will be introduced today at a 1:30 p.m. press conference in the Thornton Room on the 11th floor of the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill, 400 New Jersey Ave. NW, in Washington D.C. (202-737-1234)

For complete information about each award winner, please go to:


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.