Deliver Your News to the World

2019 Guggenheim International Gala Honors Frank Gehry, Peter Lawson-Johnston, Mary Sharp Cronson, and Caroline Cronson

Benefit Events Celebrated the Guggenheim Museum’s 60th Anniversary with Performances by Christine and the Queens and Kelsey Lu

The 2019 Guggenheim International Gala is made possible by Dior


The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum held the 2019 Guggenheim International Gala. This year’s festivities celebrated the 60th anniversary of the museum’s Frank Lloyd Wright-designed building and its recent inscription on the UNESCO World Heritage List, and honored four individuals who have historic affiliations with the Guggenheim: Frank Gehry, the preeminent architect of the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao and the future Guggenheim Abu Dhabi; Peter Lawson-Johnston, honorary chair of the Guggenheim Foundation and grandson of museum founder, Solomon R. Guggenheim; Mary Sharp Cronson, founder and board president emerita of Works & Process, the long-standing performing arts program at the Guggenheim Museum; and Caroline Cronson, producer of Works & Process.

The night before, on November 13, Christine and the Queens performed in the rotunda at the Pre-Party, and guests also enjoyed a DJ set by Caroline Polachek. The dinner on November 14 featured a performance by Kelsey Lu. The 2019 Guggenheim International Gala is made possible by Dior.

Guests at the November 14 benefit dinner included Richard Armstrong, Pietro Beccari, Maria Grazia Chiuri, John and Denise Calicchio, Cindy Chua-Tay and Liam Tay, Zoey Deutch, Lyle Ashton Harris, Maya Hoffmann, Alex Katz, Karlie Kloss, Peter Lawson-Johnston II, Linda Macklowe, Wendy McNeil, Isaac Mizrahi, Sarah Sze and Siddhartha Mukherjee, Nancy Spector, Jennifer and David Stockman, Charlize Theron, Mickalene Thomas and Racquel Chevremont, Uma Thurman, Juan Ignacio Vidarte, and Lawrence Weiner. The Gala cochairs are Christina and Robert Baker, Pietro Beccari, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Valerie and Charles Diker, Gail Engelberg, Wendy Fisher and Dennis Goodman, Janine and J. Tomilson Hill, Sheree Hovsepian and Rashid Johnson, Phyllis and William Mack, Denise and Andrew Saul, and Jamie Singer and Robert Soros.

Over $2 million was raised in support of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. These funds advance a range of internationally acclaimed exhibitions and educational programs, while providing stewardship for the Guggenheim’s modern and contemporary art collection and its building.

On November 13, over 700 guests attended the 2019 Guggenheim International Gala Pre-Party. Those present included Maria Grazia Chiuri, Hannah Bronfman, Nina Dobrev, Jourdan Dunn, Joshua Elkes, Eiza Gonzalez, Kat Graham, Alexander Hankin, Astrid Hill, Lauren Hinkson, Anne Huntington, Dorian Grinspan, Aya Jones, Héloïse Adelaïde Letissier, Ally Maki, Danny Mapes, Tyler Mitchell, Audrey Ou, Olivia Palermo, Maggie Rogers, Susan Thompson, Nat Trotman, Xiaoyu Weng, and X Zhu-Nowell.

About the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation

The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation was established in 1937 and is dedicated to promoting the understanding and appreciation of modern and contemporary art through exhibitions, education programs, research initiatives, and publications. The international constellation of museums includes the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice; the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao; and the future Guggenheim Abu Dhabi. In 2019, the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum celebrates 60 years as an architectural icon and “temple of spirit” where radical art and architecture meet. The museum is among a group of eight Frank Lloyd Wright structures in the United States recently designated as a UNESCO World Heritage site. To learn more about the museum and the Guggenheim’s activities around the world, visit

For publicity images, visit Billy Farrell Agency at and Getty Images at


November 15, 2019

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.