Deliver Your News to the World

KOCH Records Nashville to Release Long-Awaited New Album by Robert Gordon


“Satisfied Mind” to Be Released on June 7th
NEW YORK, NY -- 05/03/2005 -- KOCH Records Nashville is pleased to announce the release of “Satisfied Mind,” the new studio album by the legendary Robert Gordon, on June 7th. For more than 30 years, Gordon’s unique musical style has mesmerized audiences.

Long before the first rehearsals of The Stray Cats and the numerous rockabilly bands that followed, Robert Gordon reinvented the rockabilly sound of the ’50s and introduced it to the punk rock audiences of the ’70s. He single-handedly reinvented the genre for an updated audience, and has influenced countless bands with his unique sound.

After a stint in bands like the Tuff Darts in the ’70s, Gordon pursued a solo career and began performing raucous rockabilly, the music he grew up on in Washington, D.C. He paired up with veteran guitarist Link Wray for his first two albums, “Robert Gordon with Link Wray” and “Fresh Fish Special.” “Fresh Fish Special” also featured Elvis Presley back-up singers The Jordanaires. These critically-acclaimed records were released during punk’s heyday and were subsequently embraced by that scene. Besides his own songs, Gordon covered songs made famous by Johnny Horton, Bill Monroe, Gene Vincent and Billy Lee Riley, as well as songs by Bruce Springsteen, Marshall Crenshaw and John Lennon.

Adding to his credibility, Bear Family records, the German record label, released two volumes of his music in the ’80s. The label is famous for painstakingly detailed reissues of folk, country and rockabilly catalogs by artists that are highly respected in those genres, and it realized the brilliance of Gordon early on.

“A Satisfied Mind” includes songs originally recorded by Johnny Burnette, The Hollies, Don Gibson, Jerry Reed and others. Gordon’s title track on the new album is an amazing rendition of, Jack Rhodes’ and Joe Hayes’ “Satisfied Mind.” Gordon sings with the same deep feeling of his earlier recordings -- driven by love, hurt, sadness and absolute conviction -- but there is now a maturity and understanding that has come with age.

He’s an authentic American voice, and he sings these rock & roll songs as they were meant to sound: with sadness and longing, and with danger and recklessness.

The track listing is:

1. Dear One
2. Your Angel Steps Out of Heaven
3. Ain’t Gonna Take It No More
4. Little Boy Sad
5. Sweet Nothin’s
6. Sea of Heartbreak
7. Long Cool Woman
8. When I Found You
9. A Satisfied Mind
10. Mama’s Little Baby
11. Turn Me Loose
12. Queen of the Hop
13. Do You Love Me
14. These Boots Are Made For Walking

“A Satisfied Mind” will be released on June 7, 2005.
About KOCH Records

KOCH Records is a division of KOCH Entertainment, the fastest-growing music company and the market leader among independents in North America. The KOCH Entertainment corporate umbrella encompasses the KOCH Records label, KOCH Vision home video, KOCH Music Publishing and KOCH Entertainment Distribution with operations in both the U.S. and Canada. KOCH Records proudly claims the largest number of Billboard charting albums among independents for each of the last four years (2001-2004). For additional info on the KOCH Records label and its roster of artists, please visit


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.