Deliver Your News to the World

Distinguished Panel of Population Health Judges Announced for the 2020 Hearst Health Prize

Leaders to Select Winner of the Fifth Annual Competition Recognizing Outstanding, Proven Population Health Programs


Hearst Health, a division of Hearst, and the Jefferson College of Population Health, part of Thomas Jefferson University, announced the panel of judges for the 2020 Hearst Health Prize. The annual award recognizes the outstanding achievements of organizations managing or improving population health in the United States. One grand prize winner will be awarded $100,000, and up to two finalists will each be awarded $25,000. Submissions are now being accepted through August 9, 2019.

The announcement was made by Gregory Dorn, MD, MPH, president of Hearst Health, and David B. Nash, MD, MBA, dean of the Jefferson College of Population Health.

“We are thrilled to welcome back this dynamic panel of judges for the fifth anniversary of the Hearst Health Prize,” said Dr. Dorn. “These healthcare leaders each bring diverse expertise evaluating these submitted programs that are based on real-world outcomes.”

The nine judges, who have all previously served on the panel, include:

A. Mark Fendrick, MD: A nationally recognized expert on value-based insurance design, Fendrick is thedirector of the Center for  Value-Based Insurance Design , a professor of internal medicine at the School of Medicine and a professor of Health Management and Policy at the School for Public Health at the University of Michigan.

Tine Hansen-Turton, MGA, JD, FCPP, FAAN : A public health executive who has founded and led nationally recognized organizations, Hansen-Turton is president and CEO of Woods Services, serving children and adults with developmental disabilities.

Judith Hibbard, DrPH, MPH: Professor emerita, Department of Planning, Public Policy and Management at the University of Oregon, Hibbard’s work focuses on consumer choices and behavior in healthcare with a particular interest in testing approaches that give patients more knowledge and control over their health and healthcare.

H. Stephen Lieber, CAE: Former president and chief executive officer of HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society), where he was a leader for 17 years, Lieber currently consults with organizations and early-stage companies on operations and governance development, business strategy and international expansion.

David B. Nash, MD, MBA: The founding dean of the Jefferson College of Population Health, Nash is internationally known for his work in public accountability for outcomes, physician leadership development and quality-of-care improvement.

Valinda Rutledge, MBA, MSN: A proponent of quality improvement, innovation and accountability in healthcare delivery, Rutledge is senior vice president of Federal Affairs for America’s Physician Groups and leads all federal legislative and regulatory activities in Washington, D.C. for the national association. She is also vice president, Public Payor Health Strategy in the Care Coordination Institute at Prisma Health.

James M. Schibanoff, MD: A consultant to Hearst Health and former editor-in-chief of the Milliman Care Guidelines (now MCG), Schibanoff supervised editorial and peer review of care guidelines and analysis of the evidence used to inform their development.

Lisa Simpson, MB, BCh, MPH, FAAP : President and CEO of AcademyHealth, Simpson is a nationally recognized health policy researcher and pediatrician who is a passionate advocate for the translation of research into policy and practice.

Mark D. Smith, MD, MBA: Acclaimed for his expertise identifying and evaluating high-quality health programs and interventions, Smith was the founding president of the California Health Care Foundation (CHCF) and is currently a professor of Clinical Medicine at the University of California at San Francisco. From 2016 through 2019 he co-chaired the Guiding Committee of the Health Care Payment Learning and Action Network.

Full bios of the judging panel can be found at

“I’m humbled and truly honored to be among this distinguished group of healthcare leaders as a judge for the fifth year of the Hearst Health Prize,” said Dr. Nash. “The deep expertise this group of judges possesses across the healthcare sector brings a meaningful perspective to the review process for the excellent pool of submissions we receive annually.”

The judges, in conjunction with faculty from the Jefferson College of Population Health, will evaluate applications based on the following criteria:

  • Population health impact or outcome, demonstrated by measurable improvement
  • Use of evidence-based interventions and best practices to improve the quality of care
  • Promotion of communication, collaboration and engagement
  • Scalability and sustainability
  • Innovation

Key Dates for the 2020 Hearst Health Prize:

  • August 9, 2019: Closing date for submissions at 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT
  • January 2020: Finalists notified
  • March 30, 2020: Finalists will present their work at a poster session at the 20th annual Population Health Colloquium in Philadelphia
  • March 31, 2020: Winner of the $100,000 Hearst Health Prize will be announced at the Population Health Colloquium

Past Hearst Health Prize winners include:

  • 2019: Sharp Transitions – A home-based palliative care program for patients with advanced and progressive chronic illness who are not ready for hospice care
  • 2018: Massachusetts Housing and Shelter Alliance – A permanent supportive housing program for people experiencing chronic homelessness
  • 2017: Intermountain Healthcare – A mental health integration program that makes mental health evaluation and service part of the routine care for all Intermountain patients
  • 2016: Community Care of North Carolina – A transitional care program for Medicaid patients

For additional information about the Hearst Health Prize, please visit

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.