Deliver Your News to the World

Materials Research Society Announces 2019 MRS Fellows

Warrendale, PA – WEBWIRE

The Materials Research Society (MRS) recognized the following 18 Members (in alpha order) as MRS Fellows at the 2019 MRS Spring Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona. The honor of MRS Fellow is bestowed upon outstanding Members whose sustained and distinguished contributions to the advancement of materials research are internationally recognized.

Michael Chabinyc
University of California, Santa Barbara
For contributions to the fundamental science of the structure and electronic properties of organic semiconductors and the translation of these relationships to functional devices.

Sheng Dai
Oak Ridge National Laboratory and The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
For significant and sustained contributions in pioneering and developing novel synthetic methods for functional carbon materials for energy applications.

Jesús A. del Alamo
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
For extraordinary contributions to the physics, design, process technology and reliability of III–V compound semiconductor transistors, and for his sustained commitment to knowledge dissemination among students and researchers.

Mary E. Galvin
University of Notre Dame
For foundational research that clarifies the role of molecular architecture on the properties and performance of electroactive polymeric materials, and for her exceptional service to the materials science community.

Peter F. Green
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
For research leading to the understanding of the influence of polymer dynamics and confinement on thin-film structures and their corresponding properties, and for outstanding leadership in the materials science community.

Yue Kuo
Texas A&M University
For exceptional contributions to thin-film materials and fabrication processes for microelectronics as well as leadership in the materials science community.

Javier Llorca
IMDEA Materials Institute and Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
For contributions to the development and industrial implementation of multiscale modeling strategies in structural materials, and for his leadership as Founder and Director of the IMDEA Materials Institute.

Steven G. Louie
University of California, Berkeley
For seminal contributions to materials theory as well as to the discovery and understanding of fundamental phenomena in solids and nanostructures.

Sudipta Seal
University of Central Florida
For outstanding research on and the application and commercialization of multifunctional nanostructured defect-engineered oxides, as well as advancing graduate and undergraduate education in materials engineering and nanotechnology.

Natalie Stingelin-Stutzmann
Georgia Institute of Technology
For pivotal contributions to the application of classical polymer science tools for the efficient design and processing of organic electronic and photonic materials and devices.

Haiyan Wang
Purdue University
For innovative research on multifunctional ceramic nanocomposites, superconductors, solid oxide fuel cells and in situ TEM, and for inspired materials science education and leadership.

Paul S. Weiss
University of California, Los Angeles
For pioneering nanoscience advances, testing the ultimate limits of miniaturization of functional materials, developing ultrahigh resolution microscopes that simultaneously measure structure, spectra and function, and adding chemical dimensions to nanolithography.

Matthias Wuttig
RWTH Aachen University
For path-breaking contributions to the advancement of phase-change materials, including unraveling their unique bonding mechanism, unconventional transport properties and unusual kinetics.

Miguel José Yacaman
The University of Texas at San Antonio
For pioneering contributions to materials research in the fields of nanotechnology, catalysis, electron microscopy and physics of materials, and for his leadership in engaging the scientific community.

Xiao Cheng Zeng

University of Nebraska–Lincoln
For groundbreaking work on low-dimensional ice and clathrate gas hydrates, structures of ligand-covered gold clusters, catalysis with surface-supported gold and metal clusters and computational design of low-dimensional materials.

Yimei Zhu
Brookhaven National Laboratory
For distinguished contributions to the field of materials characterization by developing electron microscopy instrumentation and techniques to understand atomic, electronic and spin structures and the physical behavior of functional materials.

Yuntian Zhu
North Carolina State University
For seminal work on the fundamental physics, processing and properties of heterostructured and nanostructured materials.

Ji-Cheng (JC) Zhao
The Ohio State University
For pioneering research on high-throughput measurement in the field of structural materials through the invention and application of the diffusion-multiple approach and co-invention of ultrafast laser materials–property microscopy tools.

By representing excellence in science and engineering, and dedication to the advancement of materials research, MRS Fellows exemplify the highest ideals of accomplishment and service embodied in the MRS Mission. Congratulations to them all. 


About the Materials Research Society

MRS is an international organization of approximately 14,000 materials researchers from academia, industry and government, and a recognized leader in promoting the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research and technology to improve the quality of life. MRS members are engaged and enthusiastic professionals hailing from physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics and engineering—the full spectrum of materials research. Headquartered in Warrendale, Pennsylvania (USA), MRS membership now spans over 80 countries, with 49 percent of members residing outside the United States. In addition to its communications and publications portfolio, MRS organizes high-quality scientific meetings, attracting over 13,000 attendees annually and facilitating interactions among a wide range of experts from the cutting edge of the global materials community. MRS is also a recognized leader in education outreach and advocacy for scientific research. More information about the Materials Research Society can be found on its website,

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.