Deliver Your News to the World

RIBA Launches Neave Brown Award for Housing

Neave Brown  Garath Gardner
Neave Brown Garath Gardner

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (31 January 2019) launched a new prize: the Neave Brown Award for Housing, named in honour of the late Neave Brown (1929 2018).

Neave Brown was a socially-motivated, modernist architect, best known for designing a series of celebrated London housing estates. In 2018, he was awarded the UKs highest honour for architecture - the Royal Gold Medal for Architecture, which is approved personally by Her Majesty The Queen.

All 2019 RIBA Regional Award-winning housing projects that meet published criteria will be considered for the inaugural Neave Brown Award for Housing.

Speaking today, RIBA President Ben Derbyshire said:

It is an honour to announce a new, very special RIBA award dedicated to the late Neave Brown. Neaves contribution to housing will not be forgotten. He was a passionate pioneer who sought radical housing solutions to improve the lives of the local communities he served, and much can be learnt from his work.

According to RIBA research, in some parts of the country, just 1 in 5 people would choose to live in a newly built home. Architects, developers and local authorities must design and build homes that people want and this country desperately needs. I have high hopes that this new award will play a role in raising the bar and recognising good-quality, sustainable housing that will meet the needs of current and future generations.

The shortlist for the inaugural Neave Brown Award for Housing (six projects) will be announced on Thursday 25 July 2019 and the winner announced at the RIBA Stirling Prize ceremony in October 2019 (date TBC).

The 2019 RIBA Awards are open for entries until Thursday 21 February. More information on the entry process can be found here.

All 2019 RIBA regional award-winning housing projects will be considered for the Neave Brown Award for Housing if they are:

  • A winner of a 2019 RIBA Regional Award
  • A project of ten or more homes completed and occupied between 1 November 2016 and 1 February 2019.
  • One third of the housing should be affordable and should demonstrate evidence of meeting the challenge of housing affordability

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.