Deliver Your News to the World

Record-Breaking Country Music Week for Warner/Chappell

Named BMI’s Publisher of the Year for First Time in Nearly 20 Years

Crowned ASCAP’s Publisher of the Year for Sixth Year in a Row


Country music’s biggest week also proved to be a record-breaking week for Warner/Chappell Music (WCM). The company was named BMI’s Publisher of the Year for the first time in nearly 20 years, and ASCAP Publisher of the Year for the sixth year running.

WCM songwriters won an outstanding 42 country music awards from the three major performing rights organizations, including 19 ASCAP Most Performed Song Awards, 20 BMI Top Song Awards, and three SESAC Country Performance Activity Awards.

Notable highlights include Warner/Chappell songwriter Jesse Frasure being named BMI Songwriter of the Year, and newly signed songwriter Tyler Reeve winning BMI’s Song of the Year award. Additionally, “Body Like a Backroad,” co-written by WCM songwriter Zach Crowell, won ASCAP’s Song of the Year award, and Ashely Gorley took home ASCAP Songwriter of the Year for his body of work with Warner/Chappell.

The winning streak continued at last night’s 52nd annual CMA Awards, where Warner/Chappell songwriters swept seven of the ten categories. Chris Stapleton had a stellar night, winning Male Vocalist of the Year, as well as Song of the Year and Single of the Year for “Broken Halos,” produced by Dave Cobb. Kacey Musgraves took home Album of the Year for Golden Hour, Old Dominion (Matt Ramsey) was named Group of the Year, Brothers Osborne won Duo of the Year, and Thomas Rhett’s “Marry Me,” written by Jesse Frasure and Ashley Gorley, won Video of the Year.

“I’m so proud of our songwriters, and the entire Warner/Chappell family,” said Ben Vaughn, President of Warner/Chappell Nashville. “And I’m endlessly inspired by all the talent in this community. It’s a really special thing to see everyone come together to celebrate the amazing songwriters and music in this town.”

“This week, we’ve seen what’s possible when a group of hard-working, thoughtful people, who love what they do, give it their absolute best,” said Jon Platt, Chairman & CEO of Warner/Chappell Music. “It’s amazing to see our songwriters enjoying this unprecedented success, especially in a community where songwriting and songwriters are recognized unlike anywhere else in the world.” 

“Huge congratulations to our brilliant songwriters, and to Ben and our team in Nashville, who keep pushing the boundaries and raising the bar,” said Carianne Marshall, COO of Warner/Chappell Music.

Below is a list of WCM’s Country Music Week Song Award Wins:

ASCAP “Most Performed Song” Award Winners

Ashley Gorley for “A Girl Like You”

Ashley Gorley for “Black”

Ashley Gorley for “Fix a Drink”

Ashley Gorley for “Marry Me”

Ashley Gorley for “Unforgettable”

Austin Taylor Smith for “All On Me”

Ben Hayslip for “I’ll Name the Dogs”

Ben Hayslip for “Small Town Boy”

Chris Stapleton for “Broken Halos”

Derek George for “For The First Time”

Jess Carson/Mark Wystrach for “Drinkin’ Problem”

John Osborne/TJ Osborne for “It Ain’t My Fault”

Jordan Schmidt for “Happens Like That”

Jordan Schmidt for “What Ifs”

Josh Mirenda for “They Don’t Know”

Kip Moore for “More Girls Like You”

Steven Dale Jones for “Singles You Up”

Zach Crowell for “Body Like A Back Road”

Zach Crowell/Matt Jenkins/Jerry Flowers/Ashley Gorley for “Do I Make You Wanna”

BMI “Top Song” Award Winners

Aimee Mayo for “Every Time I Hear That Song”

Brandon Lancaster for “Greatest Love Story”

busbee for “The Fighter”

busbee for “You Look Good”

busbee/Emily Shackelton for “Every Little Thing”

Cameron Duddy  for “Drinkin’ Problem”

Devin Dawson/Jacob Durrett  for “All On Me”

Granger Smith for “Happens Like That”

Jesse Frasure for “No Such Thing as a Broken Heart”

Jesse Frasure for “Unforgettable”

Josh Miller for “Meant to Be”

Josh Miller for “More Girls Like You”

Laura Veltz for “I Could Use a Love Song”

Laura Veltz for “There’s A Girl”

Lee Thomas Miller for “It Ain’t My Fault”

Nicolle Galyon for “All the Pretty Girls”

Ray Fulcher for “When It Rains It Pours”

Rhett Akins for “A Girl Like You”

Rhett Akins for “Small Town Boy”

Taylor Phillips for “Hurricane”

SESAC “Country Performance Activity” Award Winners

Hillary Scott for “Heart Break”

Justin Ebach for “Singles You Up”

Rachael Price & Michael Olson for “Free Yourself Up”

( Press Release Image: )


This news content was configured by WebWire editorial staff. Linking is permitted.

News Release Distribution and Press Release Distribution Services Provided by WebWire.